Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings in Gang Research

Brotherton, D. C.  (2018, June). Critical perspectives on gangs. Oxford research encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190264079.013.424

Bullard, H., & Reid, S.  (2019, April). Gangs and violence. Oxford research encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190264079.013.442

Covey, H. (2017, June). Gangs. In Oxford bibliographies. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/OBO/9780199791231-0185

Dahl, P. (2014). Juvenile gangs and delinquency. In B. A. Arrigo (Ed.), Encyclopedia of criminal justice ethics (Vol. 1, pp. 529-531). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452274102.n188

Fleisher, M.  (2018, November). The history of gangs and gang research. Oxford research encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190264079.013.418

Hawley, F. (2012). Gangs, history of. In W. R. Miller (Ed.), The social history of crime and punishment in America: An encyclopedia (pp. 672-674). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452218427.n261

Matsuda, K. (2011). Juvenile gangs and delinquency. In W. J. Chambliss (Ed.), Key issues in crime and punishment: Juvenile crime and justice (pp. 117-130). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412994132.n9 

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. (2014). Gang prevention: Literature review. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.

Peak, K. J. (2013). Gangs and their crimes, characteristics of. In K. Peak (Ed.), Encyclopedia of community policing and problem solving (pp. 179-182). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452276113.n63

Taylor, T. J. (2009, December). Gangs, peers, and co-offending. In Oxford bibliographies. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/OBO/9780195396607-0028

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Gang Research: Internet Resources

Gangs, CrimeSolutions

National Institute of Justice's discussion on gang Overview, Programs and Practices. Their listing of programs and practices provides links and descriptions of current and past government programs addressing gangs across the country.

Gangs, National Criminal Justice Reference Center

This NCJRS webpage offers information and links to significant publications and other sources on the Prevalence, Prevention and Response to gangs.

Gangs, Office of Justice Programs

National Gang Center

The National Gang Center (NGC) is a government program that works to reduce gang-related crime and violence with three areas of focus: Criminal JusticeCommunity and Research. The NGC site offers variety of Resources and Tools including online training, informational videos, legislation, videos, webinars and more. Their What Works section contains descriptions of valuable programs and practices for gang prevention, intervention, and suppression to enable practitioners to make evidenceā€based decisions: STRATEGIC PLANNING TOOLCOMPREHENSIVE GANG MODELPROGRAMS and G.R.E.A.T. (Gang Resistance Education And Training).

National Gang Crime Research Center

A non-profit independent agency intended to promote research in cooperation with government agencies, disseminate research and information through their Journal of Gang Research and provide training to and consult services government agencies.