Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings in Criminal Justice Agencies

Frase, R. S., & Weidner, R. R. (2002). Criminal justice system. In J. Dressler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 371-393). Macmillan Reference USA.

Williams, R. L., Johnson, E., Primm, B. J., Gordis, E., Millstein, R. A., Leshner, A. I., ...Maddux, J. F. (2001). U.S. government agencies. In R. Carson-DeWitt (Ed.), Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior (2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 1288-1306). Macmillan Reference USA.

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

State and Local Agencies: Internet Resources

City of New York, Department of Corrections

NYC Corrections' facilitieshistory, directives of operation, statistics, and more.

New York City Police Department

The NYPD home page provides precinct maps, crime statistics, and reports information about the New York City Police Department bureaus and personnel.

New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision

The New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision's official website.  The DOCCS News Room and their Publications and Reports provide useful information on individuals under custody and parolees in NYS as well as their 54 facilities in NYS. 

New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

Included on the Division's Web site are criminal justice statistics, DCJS publications as well as a Directory of New York State Criminal Justice Agencies.

NYC Civilian Complaint Review Board

The NYC Civilian Complaint Review Board (CCRB) is an independent city agency that handles complaints of allegations of NYC police misconduct.  Their web page has an online complaint form and links to their News, Reports and Statistics.

Federal Agencies: Internet Resources

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosive

ATF, one federal agency of the United States Department of Justice, serves to protect communities from "violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products."

Bureau of Justice Assistance

BJA "provides leadership and services in grant administration and criminal justice policy development to support local, state, and tribal law enforcement in achieving safer communities." Their four primary focuses are: Policy, Programs, Operations, and the National Officer Safety and Wellness Office.

Department of Justice

Department of Justice webpage with history, budget, resources and more. DOJ site includes a list of DOJ agencies along with an organizational chart and publications listed by agency.

Federal Bureau of Investigations

The FBI's stated mission is to "protect the American people and uphold the Constitution of the United States." History, budget, organizational structure, statistics, resources and more.

Non-Government Organizations and Associations: Internet Resources

American Civil Liberties Union

The ACLU web site has special sections on criminal justice and death penalty issues. Included are briefing papers and other online documents.

American Society of Criminology

The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge on the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency. This organization works to encourage the communication and serve as a forum for the dissemination of criminological knowledge. Members includes students, practitioners, and academicians from all fields of criminal justice and criminology.

Ella Baker Center for Human Rights

The Ella Baker Center works locally, statewide and nationally to "organize with Black, Brown, and low-income people to shift resources away from prisons and punishment, and towards opportunities that make our communities safe, healthy, and strong." The publication We Keep Us Safe by Executive Director Zach Norris serves as the blueprint and foundation to this organization's goal of moving prisons and punishment towards promoting holding people accountable while still holding them in community.

National Criminal Justice Association

NCJA is a not-for-profit, non-partisan, member association dedicated to assisting criminal justice agencies in the development and implementation of effective criminal justice policy. Their aim is to promote justice systems that "enhance public safety, prevent and reduce the harmful effects of criminal and delinquent behavior, adjudicate defendants and sanction offenders fairly and justly, and that are effective and efficient." Valuable policy issues presented.‚Äč

The Marshall Project

The Marshall Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization speaking to the national urgency of the U.S. criminal justice system. The goal is to educate and increase number of people informed on the state of criminal justice by means of their portal presenting information on organization projects and news pieces on crucial topics in criminal justice.

National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform

NICJR works through research, advocacy and technical assistance/consultation in their attempt to transform the criminal justice system. Their reports and articles promote fair practices and educate policy makers and advocacy groups towards policy development and criminal justice reform. Main areas of interest are Criminal Justice Reform, Gun Violence Reduction, Leadership Programming and New Model Development.

Police Assessment Resource Center

Originally founded in 2001 by the Vera Institute of Justice, PARC has led the field in police accountability and innovation. PARC provides independent, evidence-based counsel and research on effective, respectful, and publicly accountable policing to local, national and international law enforcement agencies, governments and community organizations. In addition to providing details on their numerous consulting projects across the country and more recently across the globe, the site includes Code 3, a monthly column by veteran journalist Jim Newton who has covered police accountability issues for more than 25 years.

Rand Corporation

The Rand Corporation has earned a reputation of excellence in their support and publishing of research on many criminal justice issues. Reports and commentary on crime, crime and violence, criminal justice, cybersecurity, white collar crime and much more.

The Sentencing Project

The Sentencing Project "works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by producing groundbreaking research to promote reforms in sentencing policy, address unjust racial disparities and practices, and to advocate for alternatives to incarceration." The Sentencing Project’s 34 years of research, publications, and advocacy presents news, publications and personal stories related to sentencing policy, incarceration, felony disenfranchisement, racial disparity, drug policy, juvenile justice, women and collateral consequences.

Vera Institute of Justice

The Vera Institute of Justice conducts research on public policies in criminal justice with special emphasis on securing equal justice, ending mass incarceration and strengthening families and communities. Links to their research, current projects and numerous experts in their efforts to transform the status quo in the American justice systems.