Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings on Crime and Deviance

Albanese, J.S. (Ed.). (2014).  The encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice.  Wiley.  Reference HV 6017 .E5297 2014 Vols. 1-5

Anleu, S. (2002). Deviance. In D. Levinson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and punishment (Vol. 4, pp. 516-520). SAGE Publications Ltd. doi: 10.4135/9781412950664.n133

Bryant, C.D. (Ed.). (2001). Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior. Brunner-Routledge.  Reference HV 6017 .E53 2001 Vols. 1-4

Cullen, F.T., Jonson, C.L., Myer, A.J., & Adler, F. (Eds.). (2011). The origins of American criminology. Advances in criminological theory: Vol. 16. Transaction Publishers.   Stacks HV6001.A37 v. 16

Cullen, F.T. & Wilcox, P. (Eds.). (2010). Encyclopedia of criminological theory. Sage Publications. Reference HV 6017 .E527 2010 Vols. 1-2

Cullen, F.T., Wright, J.P., & Blevins, K.R. (Eds.). (2006). Taking stock: The status of criminological theory. Advances in criminological theory: Vol.15. Transaction Publishers.  Stacks HV 6001.A37 v.15

Lilly, J.R., Cullen, F.T., & Ball, R.A. (2015). Criminological theory: Context and consequences. (6th ed.). Sage Publications Ltd.  Reserve, HV6018.L55 2015

Martin, R., Mutchnick, R.J., & Austin, W. T. (1990). Criminological thought: Pioneers past and present. Macmillan.  Reference Desk, Ref HV 6023.M37 1990

McLaughlin, E. & Newburn, T. (eds.). (2013). The SAGE handbook of criminological theory. SAGE. Reference HV6025 .S25 2013

Tittle, C. R. (2002). Deviance. In J. Dressler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 519-528). Macmillan Reference USA.  Available online and Reference Desk, Ref HV 6018.W55 1993

Williams, F.P., & McShane, M. D. (1993). Criminological theory: Selected classic readingsAnderson Publishing.  Reference Desk, Ref HV 6018.W55 1993

Wright, R.A. & Miller, J.M. (Eds.). (2005). Encyclopedia of criminology. Routledge.  Reference HV 6017 .E5295 Vols. 1-3

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Domestic Violence: Internet Resources

Domestic Abuse, HelpGuide

Sections on Domestic Violence and Abuse *recognizing the signs of an abusive relationship and getting help," How to Get Out of an Abusive RelationshipHelp for Men Who Are Being AbusedChild Abuse and Neglect, Elder Abuse and Neglect and Recovering from Rape and Sexual Trauma from their nonprofit mental health and wellness website.

Domestic Violence, Office of Violence Against Women, United States Department of Justice

The Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) provides federal leadership in the mission to "reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking." Their site contains relevant Legislation and Regulations and information pertaining to Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Dating Violence and Stalking.

‚ÄčNational Domestic Violence Hotline

With a stated primary goal of supporting survivors of domestic violence 24/7, their mission is to "answer the call to support and shift power back to those affected by relationship abuse." Sections on defining domestic violence in Is This Abuse? Get the Facts, Domestic Violence Resources, and how to Get Involved.

New York City Mayor's Office to End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence

The Mayor's Office to End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence (ENDGBV) develops policies and programs, provides training and prevention education, conducts research and evaluations, performs community outreach, and operates the New York City Family Justice Centers to ensure access to inclusive services for survivors of domestic and gender-based violence. Of special interest is their Annual Reports and Fact Sheets.

Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence (OPDV), New York State

The NYS Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence (OPDV) has the mission to "improve New York State’s response to and prevention of domestic violence with the goal of enhancing the safety of all New Yorkers in their intimate and family relationships." Information including publications including the agency's OPDV Bulletin and statistics.

Violence Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Domestic violence as a public health issue with statistics, data and resources related to Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention, Elder Abuse Prevention, Firearm Violence PreventionYouth Violence Prevention, Youth Violence, Suicide Prevention, Elder Abuse Prevention, Intimate Partner Violence, and Sexual Violence.

Crime Mapping: Internet Resources

Compstat: Its Origins, Evolution, and Future in Law Enforcement Agencies, Police Executive Research Forum, Bureau of Justice Assistance

Published in 2013, this report by the Police Executive Research Forum examines the impact of Compstat on police performance and accountability.

Geospatial & Crime Mapping, Information System, CrimeSolutions.org

National Institute of Justice presents research and evaluation of programs and practices related to crime mapping in the United States. 

Mapping and Analysis for Public Safety, National Institute of Justice

NIJ's Mapping and Analysis for Public Safety (MAPS) program supports research that helps agencies use GIS to enhance public safety.

NYC Crime Map, City of New York

View number of NYC crimes by precinct, aggregated location, and as a heat map for 7 major felonies.

NYPD CompStat 2.0

NYPD crime statistics as recorded in the CompStat book provided in map format for the Seven Major NYS Penal Law Felonies: Murder and Non-Negligent Manslaughter, Rape, Robbery, Felonious Assault, Burglary, Grand Larceny and Grand Larceny Motor Vehicle.

Report of the Crime Reporting Review Committee to Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly Concerning Compstat Auditing (April 8, 2013)

Drugs and Crime: Internet Resources

Drug Crime, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Criminal Justice Reference Service information on drug crime.  Information sections on Drug-Related CrimeManufacturingPossession and Trafficking

Drugs, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS information on drugs and crime with Q&A, publication listings and related links sections such as Drug Law EnforcementPolicyPrevention and Education and Testing.

Drugs and Crime Facts, Bureau of Justice Statistics

A host of relevant statistics from BJS "At the Time of the Offense" or "Prior Drug Use by Offenders." Statistics related to drugs and types of offense, homicides, college students as victims, workplace violence victims, probation, inmates and related criminal drug histories.

Drugs and Substance Abuse, CrimeSolutions.org

National Institute of Justice website on research and evaluation of programs and practices related to crime and substance abuse in the United States.  See also the section on Crime & Crime Prevention at CrimeSolutions.org.

National Association of Drug Court Professionals

Thd NADCP advocates drug courts as a strategy and solution for treating the twin epidemics of substance abuse and mass incarceration in the United States.  A wealth of information on Treatment Courts, NADCP's Adult Drug Court Best Practice Standards, Family Treatment Court Best Practice Standards, advocacy information, links to the National Drug Court Institute which provides research and legal information, a listing of organizations related to national drug courts, and much more.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

United Nations' programs on drugs and crime including trafficking in human beings, drug trafficking, firearms, corruption, terrorism, drug prevention, fraudulent medicines, organized crime. Links to Legal Tools and  UNODC Research with a multitude of research and publications such as their annual World Drug Report.