Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings in Law Enforcement

Das, D.K., & Palmiotto, M.J. (Eds.). (2006). World police encyclopedia (Vols. 1-2). Routledge.   Reference Desk, Ref HV7901.W64 2006 v.1-2

Greene, J.R. (Ed.). (2007). The encyclopedia of police science. (Vols. 1-2). Routledge.   Reference Desk, Ref HV7901.E53 2007 v.1-2

Law Enforcement. (2003). In A. J. Darnay, (Ed.), Social trends and indicators USA (Vol. 4, pp. 195-234). Gale. 

Neyroud, P., & Vera, A. (2012). Police History. Oxford bibliographies in criminology. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0145

Steverson, L.A. (2008). Policing in America: A reference handbook. ABC-CLIO.  Reference HV8133.S84 2008

Sullivan, L. (Ed.). (2005). Encyclopedia of law enforcement. Sage Publications.  Available online and Reference HV7921 .E53 2005 v,1-3

Vila, B., & Morris, C. (Eds.). (1999). The role of police in American society: A documentary history. Greenwood Press.  Reference HV8183.R64 1999

Willis, J. (2009). Policing and law enforcement. Oxford bibliographies in criminology. Oxford University Press. 

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Law Enforcement: Internet Resources

Center for Problem-Oriented Policing, University of Albany

This non-profit organization, comprised of police practitioners, researchers, and universities, is dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing.  Published information available in their website's extensive Library which includes over 70 Problem-Oriented Policing guides to police practice for specific crimes, Response Guides which address common police responses, and Problem-Solving Tool Guides which analyze common methods and techniques applied to crime and disorder problems. A wealth of manuals, guidelines, and reports free of charge.

Civilian Complaint Bureau of NYC

An independent, non-police agency empowered to receive, investigate, hear, make findings and recommend action on complaints against New York City police officers with regards to excessive or unnecessary use of force, abuse of authority, discourtesy, or the use of offensive language. This site includes their mission statement and history; NYPD Patrol Guide; policy reports and data; information on stop, question and frisk and complaint activity maps.

International Association of Chiefs of Police

Includes information about the organization as well as full text of their extensive collection of Topic Resources such as Community-Police RelationsCriminal Justice Reform, Mass Casualty Events & Terrorism, Research & Evidence-Based Policing and much more; Policy Center; Training Keys; Critical Issues related to policing; IACP publications, namely their IACP Monthly and Police Chief Magazine; Resources and Tools for Smaller Departments and much more.

Law Enforcement, Bureau of Justice Statistics

BJS's Law Enforcement webpage focuses on "individuals and agencies responsible for enforcing laws and maintaining public order and public safety...[including] the prevention, detection, and investigation of crime and the apprehension and detention of individuals suspected of law violation."  Reports and statistics on federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies as well as special topics in law enforcement.

Law Enforcement, CrimeSolutions.org

National Institute of Justice's webpage presenting research and evaluation of programs and practices related to law enforcement in the United States.  See also the section on Crime & Crime Prevention at CrimeSolutions.org.

Law Enforcement, National Criminal Justice Reference Service,

An extensive site for sources on law enforcement Equipment and Facilities such as Communications and DispatchingLess Lethal techniques and technology and Protective EquipmentInvestigations such as Task ForcesOperations such as Community Policing and Problem-Oriented PolicingPersonnel issues such as RecruitingStress and TrainingProfiling  and Use of Force.

Law Enforcement News

Law Enforcement News is a publication of John Jay College of Criminal Justice.  It was published continuously for 30 years from September 1975 until September 2005. It was a highly acclaimed newspaper for and about American policing.

New York State Police

The official web site of New York State police outlining their Mission, Vision and Values, NYS police selection processCrime Prevention and Safety; Criminal Investigation; annual reports and more. 

New York Police Department (NYPD)

The official website of New York's Finest in all its glory--statistics, publications, news, police museum, top cops, NYPD memorial, kids section, photo gallery, press releases, missing persons and most wanted. Some highlights include precinct maps, citywide crime statistics, NYPD crime prevention initiatives, NYPD Patrol Guide, and NYPD reports and analysis such as Use of Force and Firearm Discharge Data,

Official Directory of State Patrol and State Police

This directory of state patrol and police departments was founded by Senior Sergeant (Retired) Terrance D Martin. He provides links to official sites for state police departments in the U.S. as well as a few poems by and about state troopers.

Police Assessment Resource Center

Founded by the Vera Institute of Justice, PARC works with local, national and international law enforcement agencies and community organizations to provide independent, evidence-based counsel and research on effective, respectful, and publicly accountable policing. Their site includes Code 3, a monthly column by a veteran journalist who has covered police accountability issues for more than 25 years as well as PARC's public reports, investigations, and assessments.

Police Foundation

The Police Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan, and non-membership-driven organization dedicated to improving American policing through innovation and science.  The Foundation's Publication Library is extensive and covers topics such as crime mapping, American policing, practices and strategies, terrorism, and body worn cameras just to name a few. Included is their own publications such as Crime Mapping and Analysis News and their Critical Incident Reviews. A good source for useful resources such as their Use of Force Infographic aimed at educating the public on appropriate police force and how incidences are investigated.