Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings in Juvenile Justice

Bickel, C. (2011). Juvenile justice. In M. Shally-Jensen (Ed.), Encyclopedia of contemporary American social issues (Vol. 2, pp. 549-561). ABC-CLIO.

Butts, J. A. (2002). Juvenile justice: Juvenile court. In J. Dressler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 937-947). Macmillan Reference USA.

Chambliss, W. J. (2011). Key issues in crime and punishment: Juvenile crime and justice. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412994132

Feld, B. C. (2008). Juvenile justice. In D. S. Tanenhaus (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States (Vol. 3, pp. 99-104). Macmillan Reference USA.

Field, B. C. (2002). Juvenile justice: History and philosophy. In J. Dressler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 911-917). Macmillan Reference USA.

Hogeveen, B., & Minaker, J. (2005). Juvenile justice system. In M. Bosworth (Ed.), Encyclopedia of prisons and correctional facilities (Vol. 1, pp. 514-519). SAGE Reference. 

Lab, S. & Whitehead, J. (2009). Juvenile justice. In J. M. Miller, (Ed.), 21st century criminology: A reference handbook (pp. 702-710). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412971997.n81

Loughran, E. J. (2002). Juvenile justice: Institutions. In J. Dressler (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and justice (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 927-935). Macmillan Reference USA.

McShane, M. D. & Williams, F. P. (Eds.). (2003). Encyclopedia of juvenile justice. SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412950640

Rapp-Paglicci, L. (2009). Juvenile justice. In Oxford bibliographies. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/OBO/9780195389678-0038 

Short, D. (2012). Juvenile justice, history of. In W. R. Miller (Ed.), The social history of crime and punishment in America: An encyclopedia (pp. 930-932). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452218427.n362

Taylor, T. J. (2009). The juvenile justice system. In Oxford bibliographies. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/OBO/9780195396607-0042

Van Ness, S. (2002). Juvenile justice. In D. Levinson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of crime and punishment (Vol. 1, pp. 985-986). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412950664.n252

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Juvenile Justice: Internet Resources

Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice

The Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ) is a nonprofit nonpartisan organization with a mission to reduce society’s reliance on incarceration as a solution to social problems. CJCJ's services focus on the Bay area of California, however, their organization and website offers technical assistance on such things as developing community-based correctional programs, constructing individualized sentencing reports and creating correctional reform strategies. This organization also offers policy analysis on a wide variety of criminal justice issues and more.

Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice

This committee advises the President, Congress and the Office of Justice Programs of the U.S. Department of Justice on matters related to juvenile justice. Committee recommendations, responses and annual reports are offered on their webpage.

Juvenile Justice, ACUL

What's at stake for juveniles in the criminal justice system in terms of legislation, treatment, rehabilitation, advocacy and the reallocation of resources according to the ACLU. Sections include discussions of current issues such as youth incarceration and school to prison pipeline and more. Included are suggestion of ways to take action.

Juvenile Justice, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

The NCJRS juvenile justice webpage offers a wealth of information on Corrections and Detention, Gender, Race and Ethnicity issues in juvenile justice, Juvenile Courts, different types and levels of Offending by Juveniles, Prevention measures for juvenile justice and the relationship of Schools. Publications, reports, statistics, program descriptions and links to relevant sources.

Juvenile Justice, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice

OJP resource page on the issue of juvenile justice includes sections on Programs/Initiatives, Publications and Research, and Training and Technical Assistance.

Juveniles, CrimeSolutions.org

National Institute of Justice research on and evaluation of programs pertaining the juvenile crime in the United States. See also the section on Crime & Crime Prevention at CrimeSolutions.org.

Publications on Juvenile Justice, National Institute of Justice

Publications related to a wide variety of juvenile justice issues in chronological order.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice

Information on the Office, their Library which provides online access to their own numerous publications and reports, information and models of Evidence-based ProgramsStatistics and more.