Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings on Victim Research

Batten, D. (2010). Victims of crime. In Gale encyclopedia of American law (3rd ed., Vol. 10, pp. 233-236). Gale.

Berg, S. E. (2009). Victimization. In S. C. McQuade, (Ed.), Encyclopedia of cybercrime (pp. 187-189). ABC-Clio.

Evans, K. M. (2016). Crime victims. In Crime, prisons, and jails (pp. 30-46). Gale.

Jensen, V., & Garcia, V. (2012). Victimization and women’s offending. In V. Jensen (Ed.), Women criminals: An encyclopedia of people and issues (Vol. 1, pp. 139-162). ABC-CLIO.

Mathers, S. (2008). Victimization. In R. T. Schaefer (Ed.), Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society (Vol. 3, pp. 1363-1365). SAGE Publications.

Mcgee, Z., Gilbert, A., & Henley, K. (2009). Victimization, Youth. In H. T. Greene & S. L. Gabbidon (Eds.), Encyclopedia of race and crime (Vol. 2, pp. 855-858). SAGE Reference.

San, M. V. (2013). Criminality and victimization. In I. Ness & P. Bellwood (Eds.), The Encyclopedia of global human migration (Vol. 2, pp. 1116-1119). Wiley-Blackwell.

Walklate, S. (2017, February). Witnessing and victimhood. In Oxford research encyclopedia of criminology. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190264079.013.207

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Victim Research: Internet Sources

Center for Victim Research, Urban Institute

The Center for Victim Research was created to meet the need for increased data, evidence-based practices, and program evaluation for victim service providers, policymakers, and funders in order to improve policies, programs and practices. CVR's site provides access to victim research and data in order to improve the response to crime victims. Search the OVR online library to find over 1,000 public access documents, consult their extensive research and tools & training sections as well as connect through their collection of podcasts and webinars.

CrimeVictims.gov

Part of the federal government's Office for Victims of Crime, this organization serves to increase awareness on victims’ rights, educate the public on the impact of crime, and promote crime victim resources. Their site is sectioned off by three intended audiences—crime victims, volunteers, and victim service providers.  Provides a wealth of resources including links to websites, publications, databases and hotlines. The site "gives a face" to crime victims, volunteers, and providers through photos and brief testimonials.

Office for Victims or Crime, Office of Justice Programs

OVC site provides a helpful crime victimization glossary as well as a multitude of information on a variety of related topics, many relevant OVC and OJP publications; OVC, Federal and Non-Governmental Resources; and a listing of Victim Advocacy Programs.

National Center for Victims of Crime

The National Center for Victims of Crime serves to forge a national commitment to help victims of crime, their families and communities, in effort to rebuild their lives. Information on their many programs with links as well as a helpline for victims of crime.

National Resource Center for Reaching Victims

Site for victim service providers, culturally specific organizations, criminal justice professionals, 
and policymakers to help in their pursuits to identify, reach, and serve all victims, especially those from underserved communities. The Center's goals are to understand who is underrepresented and why, design and implement best practices in how to connect people and services they need, and empower and equip organizations in helping victims to recover from crime. A valuable Resource Library is available with access to abundant materials.

Office of Victim Services, New York State

NYS OVS began as the Crime Victims Compensation Board in 1966 and was one of the first independent state agencies established for crime victim compensation. OVS has been providing compensation and other services to NYS innocent victims of crime. Their site includes list of services, news, NYS forms and legal information related to victims of crime in New York State.

Safe Horizon

Safe Horizon, a leading victim assistance organization, serves to "provide support, prevent violence, and promote justice for victims of crime and abuse, their families and communities." Information on the ways they empower victims and survivors through their Client-Centered Practice (CCP). Research presented including facts and statistics as well as relevant news.

Victims, Bureau of Justice Statistics

BJS webpage on crime victims including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). Access to research, victim statistics, crime trends and statistics, offender statistics, crime reporting statistics and statistics on victim service providers.

Victims, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS webpage format on Q&As, publications and related links to information on victims of crime.  Sections include: Civil RemediesCrisis Intervention/ResponseFinancial RecoveryHealth and Mental Health of victims, Homicide Victims/Co-Survivors,   Restorative Justice, victims' Rights and ServicesSpecial Populations of victims including Juveniles, Minorities, Older Adults, Persons with Disabilities and Women.

Victims of Crime, NYPD

NYPD page includes How to Report a Crime, the Criminal Justice Process, victim Resources & Services, information on Hate Crimes and Bias Incidents as well as U Visa/T Visa information and resources for immigrant victims of serious crimes.

Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice