Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice

Selected Readings on Terrorism

Ciment, J. (2011). World terrorism : An encyclopedia of political violence from ancient times to the post-9/11 era (2nd ed.). M.E. Sharpe. (Reference HV6431. W67 2011).

Evans, K. M. (2015). Terrorism. In National security (pp. 37-56). Gale. 

Fisher, D., & Dugan, L. (2017). Criminological explanations for terrorism. Oxford bibliographies in criminology. Oxford University Press. 

Kushner, H. W. (Ed.) (2003). Encyclopedia of terrorism. SAGE Publications Ltd.

Lerner, K. L., & Lerner, B. W. (Eds.). (2006). Terrorism: Essential primary sources. Gale

Malley-Morrison, Malley-Morrison, Kathleen, McCarthy, Sherri, & Hines, Denise A. (2013). International handbook of war, torture, and terrorism. Springer.

Martin, G. (Ed.) (2011). The SAGE encyclopedia of terrorism. (2nd ed.). SAGE Publications Ltd.

Mills, C., Freilich, J., & Chermak, S. (2017). Terrorism and hate crime. Oxford bibliographies in criminology. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0217

Miskel, J. F. (2010). Terrorism. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), 21st century Reference Series. 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference handbook (Vol. 2, pp. 1007-1014). SAGE Reference.

Plouffe, W. (2012). Terrorism. In W. R. Miller (Ed.), The social history of crime and punishment in America: An encyclopedia (Vol. 5, pp. 1781-1788). SAGE Publications Ltd. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452218427.n672

Schmid, A. P. (2011). The Routledge handbook of terrorism research. Routledge.

Vertigans, S. (2015). Terrorism. In J. D. Wright (Ed.), International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd ed., pp. 237-243). https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-08-097086-8.96025-2

Evaluating Internet Resources

In this section, you will find links to our research guides related to criminal justice.  These research guides have internet links which have been selected by librarians and are considered appropriate for the study of certain topics within criminal justice and ancillary disciplines. When searching the web and finding resources that have not been selected by information professionals, you want to make sure that the information you've found is valid and from a reliable source.

Use our Library guides to help you find reliable sources on the web:

Evaluating Information Sources on the Web

Information Literacy: What is it?

Use these tutorials and instructional videos from Credo Instruct to help you in evaluating your sources:

Why Information Literacy Matters

Video: Evaluating Sources

Internet Resources: Terrorism

Bioterrorism, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

A to Z listing and information on agents of bioterrorism, training videos entitled, "History of Biological Terrorism" and “Biological Warfare and Terrorism: The Military and Public Health Response," and Planning and Preparation for bioterrorism emergencies.

Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

The CISA, as part of the FBI, works with partners to defend against threats and build a more secure and resilient infrastructure for the future. This Agency has three congressionally mandated missions: cybersecurity, infrastructure security, and emergency communications.  

Department of Homeland Security

The Department of Homeland Security reaches far into venues associated with its mission to secure the nation from threats including aviation, border security, emergency response, cybersecurity and more. Their website includes information on their leadership, organization, history, budget and more.

Terrorism, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS Q&As, publications and related links to information on terrorism.

Terrorism and Mass Violence, Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs

Office for Victims of Crime and Office of Justice Programs publications, Resources, Forum Discussions and helpful FAQs.

Terrorist Explosive Device Analytical Center (TEDAC) 

The FBI's TEDAC is an interagency organization intended to receive, analyze, and exploit all terrorist explosive devices or IEDs of interest to the United States. They coordinate efforts of law enforcement, intelligence and military to gather and share forensic data and intelligence helping to disarm and disrupt IEDs and prevent future attacks.