LibGuides: Forensic science: Find books

How to find books
How to get a call number and find the book on the shelf.

Browse the shelves:

HV 8073 = Crime investigation

RA1001 - RA 1171 = Forensic medicine, medical jurisprudence, legal medicine.

RA 1190 - RA 1270 = Toxicology, poisons.

RB 57 = Autopsies.

LD 2602. J3 = theses by John Jay master's students.

InterLibrary Loan

What if it's not in our library?

All users can request books from other CUNY libraries, using the CLICS system.

Graduate students and faculty are welcome to request books & articles through the ILLiad system.

Non-book materials

Use the library's OneSearch to find reports & other gray literature, movies as well as books.

Electronic book collections

Not everything is digitized! But we do have many electronic books available on and off-campus to John Jay students, staff & faculty. All our e-books are discoverable in OneSearch.

Science e-books

FORENSIC netBASE
This collection of over 300 reference books in forensic science and related fields is included in search results on the Taylor and Francis platform. Note: It is no longer possible to limit your search to just this collection.
NCBI bookshelf
A growing collection of searchable biomedical books hosted by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, which advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Good for science and non-science content

Ebook Central (Proquest)
A constantly expanding collection of thousands of ebooks on a broad variety of disciplines.
Ebook Collection from Ebscohost (formerly Netlibrary)
Access to thousands of commercially published electronic books in various disciplines, including recently-published titles in criminal justice. (Formerly Netlibary)
Google Book Search
Google is in the process of scanning complete books from some of the world's great libraries. Books in the public domain can be read in their entirety. Some books will display in part.

A little light reading

Some books in the stacks (can be borrowed for 4 weeks):

Benecke, M. (2005). Murderous methods : using forensic science to solve lethal crimes. Stacks - HV8079 .H6 B4613 2005

Blum, D. (2010). The poisoner's handbook : murder and the birth of forensic medicine in Jazz Age New York. Stacks HV6555 .U52 N373 2010

Cobb, C. (2007). Crime scene chemistry for the amateur sleuth. Stacks HV8073 .C584 2007.

Englert, R. (2010). Blood secrets: chronicles of a crime scene reconstructionist. Stacks HV8077.5 .B56 E54 2010

Gerber & Saferstein. (1997). More chemistry and crime : from marsh arsenic test to DNA profile. Stacks - HV 8073 .M763 1997

Houck, Max M. (2004). Trace evidence analysis : more cases in mute witnesses. Stacks - HV8073 .T675 2004

Lee, H. (2010). Shocking cases from Dr. Henry Lee's forensic files. Stacks HV8073 .L395 2010.

Lee, H. (2006). Dr. Henry Lee's forensic files : five famous cases--Scott Peterson, Elizabeth Smart, and more. Stacks HV8073 .L369 2006

Lee, H. (2003). Blood evidence: how DNA is revolutionizing the way we solve crimes. Stacks - RA1057.55 .L44 2003

Lee, H. (2002). Cracking cases : the science of solving crimes. Stacks - HV 8073 .L44 2002

Owen, D. (2007). The little book of forensics : 50 of the world's most infamous criminal cases solved by science. Stacks HV8073 .O95 2007

Owen, D. (2009). Hidden evidence : 40 true crimes and how forensic science helped solve them. Stacks HV 8073 .O93 2000.

Ramsland, K. (2001). The forensic science of C.S.I. . Stacks - HV8073 .R325 2001

Ramsland, K. (2004). The science of Cold Case files. Stacks - HV8073 .R326 2004

Starrs, J & Ramsland, K. (2005). A voice for the dead: A forensic investigator's pursuit of truth in the grave. Stacks - HV8073.5 .S75 2005