Forensic Science: A very short introduction by 
Blood, Powder, and Residue (A rare behind-the-scenes look at the work of forensic scientists ) by
The findings of forensic science--from DNA profiles and chemical identifications of illegal drugs to comparisons of bullets, fingerprints, and shoeprints--are widely used in police investigations and courtroom proceedings. While we recognize the significance of this evidence for criminal justice, the actual work of forensic scientists is rarely examined and largely misunderstood. Blood, Powder, and Residue goes inside a metropolitan crime laboratory to shed light on the complex social forces that underlie the analysis of forensic evidence. Drawing on eighteen months of rigorous fieldwork in a crime lab of a major metro area, Beth Bechky tells the stories of the forensic scientists who struggle to deliver unbiased science while under intense pressure from adversarial lawyers, escalating standards of evidence, and critical public scrutiny. Bechky brings to life the daily challenges these scientists face, from the painstaking screening and testing of evidence to making communal decisions about writing up the lab report, all while worrying about attorneys asking them uninformed questions in court. She shows how the work of forensic scientists is fraught with the tensions of serving justice--constantly having to anticipate the expectations of the world of law and the assumptions of the public--while also staying true to their scientific ideals. Blood, Powder, and Residue offers a vivid and sometimes harrowing picture of the lives of highly trained experts tasked with translating their knowledge for others who depend on it to deliver justice.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences, 3rd edition, Elsevier, by
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences, Four Volume Set, Third Edition presents content that is logically built around the following sections and topics, via a taxonomic approach, as opposed to the previous old-style alphabetical mode, thus resulting in far easier navigation for the user. Sections first cover Biological issues, including Anthropology, DNA, Entomology, Genetics, Pathology, Serology, Fingerprints, Biometrics, and more. Next, a Chemical section covers Drugs, Explosives, Fire debris, Materials analysis, Polymers, General chemistry, Microscopy, Instrumental methods, Inks, Development methods (visualization of latent evidence), and more. Thirdly, a section on Physical covers Toolmarks, Firearms, Impression evidence, Documents and handwriting, fracture comparisons, etc. Additional sections cover Digital, including discussion on devices, storage, locations, servers, networks, consumer end-products, and black boxes (vehicles, planes, etc.). A final section covers Professional, with sections on philosophy, ethics, associations, accreditation, certification, licensing, legal issues and admissibility. All chapters in this update have been revised with the latest information in the field. Provides a truly comprehensive resource with current information about forensic science Presents a modern structure that reflects how researchers and professionals actually use the content Includes a global perspective, with emerging issues like genealogical searches and human rights Covers a variety of topics that affect forensic science, like legal issues, ethics and professionalization
Forensic Science Handbook, Volume I, third edition. by
Originally published in 1982 by Pearson/Prentice-Hall, the Forensic Science Handbook, Third Edition has been fully updated and revised to include the latest developments in scientific testing, analysis, and interpretation of forensic evidence. World-renowned forensic scientist, author, and educator Dr. Richard Saferstein once again brings together a contributor list that is a veritable Who's Who of the top forensic scientists in the field. This Third Edition, he is joined by co-editor Dr. Adam Hall, a forensic scientist and Assistant Professor within the Biomedical Forensic Sciences Program at Boston University School of Medicine. This two-volume series focuses on the legal, evidentiary, biological, and chemical aspects of forensic science practice. The topics covered in this new edition of Volume I include a broad range of subjects including: * Legal aspects of forensic science * Analytical instrumentation to include: microspectrophotometry, infrared Spectroscopy, gas chromatography, liquid chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, and mass spectrometry * Trace evidence characterization of hairs, dust, paints and inks * Identification of body fluids and human DNA This is an update of a classic reference series and will serve as a must-have desk reference for forensic science practitioners. It will likewise be a welcome resource for professors teaching advanced forensic science techniques and methodologies at universities world-wide, particularly at the graduate level.
Forensic Science: A multidisciplinary approach by
Concentrating on the natural science aspects of forensics, top international authors from renowned universities, institutes, and laboratories impart the latest information from the field. In doing so they provide the background needed to understand the state of the art in forensic science with a focus on biological, chemical, biochemical, and physical methods. The broad subject coverage includes spectroscopic analysis techniques in various wavelength regimes, gas chromatography, mass spectrometry, electrochemical detection approaches, and imaging techniques, as well as advanced biochemical, DNA-based identification methods. The result is a unique collection of hard-to-get data that is otherwise only found scattered throughout the literature.
Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine. 2nd edition. by
Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine, Volumes 1-4, Second Edition is a pioneering four volume encyclopedia compiled by an international team of forensic specialists who explore the relationship between law, medicine, and science in the study of forensics. This important work includes over three hundred state-of-the-art chapters, with articles covering crime-solving techniques such as autopsies, ballistics, fingerprinting, hair and fiber analysis, and the sophisticated procedures associated with terrorism investigations, forensic chemistry, DNA, and immunoassays. Available online, and in four printed volumes, the encyclopedia is an essential reference for any practitioner in a forensic, medical, healthcare, legal, judicial, or investigative field looking for easily accessible and authoritative overviews on a wide range of topics. Chapters have been arranged in alphabetical order, and are written in a clear-and-concise manner, with definitions provided in the case of obscure terms and information supplemented with pictures, tables, and diagrams. Each topic includes cross-referencing to related articles and case studies where further explanation is required, along with references to external sources for further reading. Brings together all appropriate aspects of forensic medicine and legal medicine Contains color figures, sample forms, and other materials that the reader can adapt for their own practice Also available in an on-line version which provides numerous additional reference and research tools, additional multimedia, and powerful search functions Each topic includes cross-referencing to related articles and case studies where further explanation is required, along with references to external sources for further reading
Encyclopedia of Mass Spectrometry volume 9, Historical Perspectives, by
Volume 9: Historical Perspectives, Part A: The Development of Mass Spectrometry of The Encyclopedia of Mass Spectrometry describes and analyzes the development of many aspects of Mass Spectrometry. Beginning with the earliest types of Mass Analyzers, Historical Perspectives explores the development of many different forms of analytical processes and methods. The work follows various instruments and interfaces, to the current state of detectors and computerization. It traces the use of Mass Spectrometry across many different disciplines, including Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Proteomics; Environmental Mass Spectrometry; Forensic Science; Imaging; Medical Monitoring and Diagnosis; Earth and Planetary Sciences; and Nuclear Science. Finally, the book covers the history of manufacturers and societies as well as the professionals who form the Mass Spectrometry community. Also available: Volume 9: Historical Perspectives, Part B: Notable People in Mass Spectrometry briefly reviews the lives and works of many of the major people who carried out this development. Preserves the history and development of Mass Spectrometry for use across scientific fields Written and edited by Mass Spectrometry experts Coordinates with Volume 9: Historical Perspectives, Part B: Notable People in Mass Spectrometry, a collection of short biographies on many of the major people who carried out this development
Introduction to Criminalistics by
Introduction to Criminalistics covers the basics of Criminalistics in a textbook for a one or two semester course, with the intention of preparing the student for a future in forensic science. The role of the Criminalist is to analyze, compare, identify, and interpret physical evidence in the crime lab. These crime labs, or forensic labs, have two primary functions: identifying evidence and linking the suspect, victim, and crime scene through physical evidence. This new primer introduces the learner to the structure and organization of the crime lab and to the role of the Criminalist. It features real cases - recent and historic - to illustrate concepts. Colorful pedagogy clearly defines chapter elements and sets this text apart from next best. Topics covered include how to process a crime scene and preserve evidence, the basic principles of firearm examination, latent fingerprints, and rudimentary toxicology, or how to determine the presence or absence of drugs and poisons. Well organized and methodical, this textbook has the potential to become the standard text for applying techniques of the physical and natural sciences to examining physical evidence. Uses real cases - recent and historic - to illustrate concepts Colorful pedagogy clearly defines chapter elements and sets this text apart from next best Presents the basics of forensic sciences in a one-semester or one-year course Offers excellent preparation for professional examinations Delivers the latest in laboratory technique while acknowledging the limits of technology
Forensic Science in Court by
Forensic Science in Court explores the legal implications of forensic science--an increasingly important and complex part of the justice system. Judge Donald Shelton provides an accessible overview of the legal aissues, from the history of evidence in court, to "gatekeeper" judges determining what evidence can be allowed, to the "CSI effect" in juries. The book describes and evaluates various kinds of evidence, including DNA, fingerprints, handwriting, hair, bite marks, tool marks, firearms and bullets, fire and arson investigation, and bloodstain evidence. Assessing the strengths and limitations of each kind of evidence, the author also discusses how they can contribute to identifying the "who," "how," and "whether" questions that arise in criminal prosecutions. Author Donald Shelton draws on the depth of his experiences as courtroom prosecutor, professor, and judge, to provide a well-rounded look at these increasingly critical issues. Case studies throughout help bring the issues to life and show how forensic science has been used, both successfully and not, in real-world situations.
Pioneers in Forensic Science: Innovations and Issues in Practice by 
Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence
"The Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence, Third Edition," assists judges in managing cases involving complex scientific and technical evidence by describing the basic tenets of key scientific fields from which legal evidence is typically derived and by providing examples of cases in which that evidence has been used. First published in 1994 by the Federal Judicial Center, the "Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence" has been relied upon in the legal and academic communities and is often cited by various courts and others. Judges faced with disputes over the admissibility of scientific and technical evidence refer to the manual to help them better understand and evaluate the relevance, reliability and usefulness of the evidence being proffered. The manual is not intended to tell judges what is good science and what is not. Instead, it serves to help judges identify issues on which experts are likely to differ and to guide the inquiry of the court in seeking an informed resolution of the conflict. The core of the manual consists of a series of chapters (reference guides) on various scientific topics, each authored by an expert in that field. The topics have been chosen by an oversight committee because of their complexity and frequency in litigation. Each chapter is intended to provide a general overview of the topic in lay terms, identifying issues that will be useful to judges and others in the legal profession. They are written for a non-technical audience and are not intended as exhaustive presentations of the topic. Rather, the chapters seek to provide judges with the basic information in an area of science, to allow them to have an informed conversation with the experts and attorneys.
Ethics and the Practice of Forensic Science, 2nd edition. by 
Practical Bomb Scene Investigation, Third Edition by
How to find and collect evidence and assess the scene,...identifying the bombmaker's signature through latent print, DNA, explosive residue, metallurgical, and toolmark examination and forensic analysis.
A Radiologic Atlas of Abuse, Torture, Terrorism, and Inflicted Trauma by
The results of aggression against humans can be hideously obvious, but may also be entirely concealed from casual inspection. Often, only exploration of the hidden recesses of the mind via psychiatric evaluation, or radiologic exploration of the inner recesses of the body can reveal the evidence of such violence. This book focuses on the latter. A Radiologic Atlas of Abuse, Torture, Terrorism, and Inflicted Trauma combines the lifetime experience of two distinguished radiologists and a renowned odontologist to provide an unprecedented collection of radiographs depicting the results of violence on the human body.
Criminal Dismemberment by
Key features include: Psychological analysis of the perpetrator Detailed examination of case studies, anonymized from recent investigations Difficulties encountered in a dismemberment investigation Tool mark analysis, including knives and saws, accompanied by over 120 detailed, full-color illustrations and photographs
Forensic Podiatry by
Forensic Podiatry: Principles and Methods, Second Edition has been completely updated to reflect the latest developments and advancements in this changing field. New additions to the book, from the previous edition, include all new chapters on the expert witness, Frye Test, and Daubert Standard, as well as revised theories on gait analysis, bare footprint identification, and footwear examination. The new edition includes extensive case studies and an international compilation of current best practices. Since this text#65533;s first publication, the field of forensic podiatry has rapidly developed from relative obscurity to a dynamic, internationally recognized discipline. Forensic podiatrists have been able to advance improvements in the field, both in widening the range of applications and deepening the practice through improved techniques to strengthen evidentiary conclusions. Written by two pioneers in the field, Forensic Podiatry includes over one hundred detailed illustrations to serve as an invaluable resource for students, practicing forensic podiatrists, legal professionals and those new to the profession.
In print format only
FBI Handbook of crime scene forensics. Reference HV8073. F35 2008
Forensic chemistry handbook. Kobilinsky, L. Reserve HV8073. F5595.
Forensic science. Salem Press. 3 volumes. Reference HV 8073. F5837 2009
Forensic science handbook. Saferstein. (2002). 2nd edition. Reference HV 8073 .F585 2002 (volume 1 only – for volume 2 & 3 use first edition, same call number).
Forensic Service's directory. (Annual). Reference HV 8073. F62.
Guide to information sources in the forensic sciences. Reference HV8073. H63 2006.
Wiley Encyclopedia of forensic science. 5 volumes. Reference HV 8073. W55 2009.
TOXICOLOGY & PATHOLOGY:
Casarett & Doull's Toxicology. 2013. 8th edition. Reserves RA1215.C37 2013.
Color atlas of forensic pathology. 2000. CRC Press. Also available as an electronic book.
Comprehensive toxicology (13 vol). Reference RA 1199.C648 1997.
Courtroom toxicology. Reference RA 1228.H68.
CRC Handbook of basic tables for chemical analysis. 3rd edition. 2010. Electronic book.
CRC Handbook of chemistry and physics. Annual. QD65.H3
Criminal poisoning : investigational guide for law enforcement, toxicologists, forensic scientists, and attorneys. Stacks - RA 1228 .T74 2000. Also available as an electronic book.
Design and analysis in chemical research. Reference QD75.4.S8 D48 2000
Detecting forgery. Reference HV 8074.N53 1996
Disposition of toxic drugs and chemicals in man. 7th edition. (Arranged in alphabetical order of the drug name). Reference RM301.55 .B37 2004.
Encyclopedia of toxicology. 3rd edition. (2014). Wexler, P (Ed.) Elsevier. Available as an electronic book.
Forensic neuropathology. 2nd edition. Ref RA 1147. L44 2009
Handbook of autopsy practice. Reference RB57. L8 2002.
Handbook of forensic toxicology for medical examiners. 2010. CRC Press. Electronic book.
Handbook of toxicologic pathology, 2nd edition. Reference RA1211 .H3196 2002
Hayes Principles and methods of toxicology. RA 1211. P74 2001
Principles of forensic toxicology. Reference RA1228.P75 1999
Resolving Erroneous Reports in Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring: A Comprehensive Guide. 2012.
OTHER:
Advances in forensic applications of mass spectrometry. (Yinon). 2004. Stacks HV8073.5 .A38 2004. Also available as an electronic book.
Atlas of human hair: Microscopic characteristics. 2nd edition. CRC Press. 1999. Electronic book.
Color atlas and manual of microscopy for criminalists, chemists and conservators. Reference - QH205.2 .P486 2004.
Encyclopedia of climate and weather. Reference QC 854.E523 2011
Encyclopedia of DNA & the U.S. criminal justice system. Ref RA1057.55 P34 2004.
Essential guide to blood groups. 2010. Wiley-Blackwell. Electronic book.
Forensic anthropology and medicine. Stacks RA1059 .F672 2006
Forensic human identification Stacks RA1055 .F67 2007
Handbook of firearms and ballistics. 2nd edition. Heard, B. . 2008. Electronic book.
Handbook of forensic drug analysis. Reference RA 1160.H36 2005.
Pigment compendium: a dictionary of historical pigments. Reference TP 936. P575 2004.
Questioned documents: A lawyer's handbook. Reference HV 8074 .L48 2001.
Rape investigation handbook. Reference HV 8079.R35R36 2005
Terminal Ballistics: A Text and Atlas of Gunshot Wounds. Dodd, M. (2005). CRC Press. Electronic book.
Truth machine: the contentious history of DNA fingerprinting. Ref RA 1057 .55 .L96 2008
These collections allow you to search across multiple different encyclopedias and dictionaries. Using an encyclopedia is a great way to start your research, by getting an overview of the topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc. [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]
Sage e-Reference Collection. A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.
