Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Forensic science: Find articles in journals

A guide to finding (mostly published) information in forensic science. By Ellen Sexton.

Our best databases for identifying articles in science journals:

SCOPUS
The major forensic science journals are indexed by this huge new database from Elsevier.  Also indexed are 14,000 peer-reviewed journal titles from more than 4,000 international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine, published from the 1960s to the present.  SFX (Find It!) buttons may link to full text.

General Science FullText
Relatively small database, covering about 150 major general science journals. Covers Nature, Science, Scientific American and other general science journals. May be good place to identify a general article providing an overview of forensic science topics.

Medline with EBSCOhost interface  or  Medline with PubMed interface
National Library of Medicine's huge index to the medical and biomedical literature. The content is the same, but the search interface looks and works differently.  It;s a little easier to get to the full text of articles using the  EBSCOhost version.

 

More science databases

About journals & articles

What are scientific journals?   Wikipedia but good.

How to read a scientific paper (fun exploration of the problems, in AAAS Science magazine).

FORS Forensic Bibliographic Database

 Forensic Bibliographic Database (FORS):    This database has ceased to exist.  SCOPUS   is a good alternative.