Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

NYPD - Historical and Current Research: NYPD Annual Reports and Statistics

This is a guide mainly focusing on the history of the NYPD, but modern sources are covered too. By Ellen Belcher

NYPD Crime Map

New York City Crime Map   from the website: Crime data is provided in map format for the, “seven major NYS Penal Law felonies” (Murder and Non-Negligent Manslaughter, Rape, Robbery, Felonious Assault, Burglary, Grand Larceny and Grand Larceny Motor Vehicle. Attempted crimes are recorded as that crime with the exception of Attempted Murder which is recorded as a Felonious Assault.) A crime map can be presented cumulatively year to date, previous year cumulative and by any specific month in either period. The opening and default map views are of the most recent full month count of all seven major crimes. Crime reports have been aggregated to the intersection or street segment. Crimes are symbolically represented by shaded precinct geography when viewed zoomed out and by graduated points or a heat map shading when zoomed in...

NYPD Compstat 2.0 was launched in February 2016 - it also is a crime mapping tool

NYPD Annual Reports to 1921

New York (N.Y.). Police Dept. Annual report of the Police Department of the City of New York. New York : Martin B. Brown, printer and stationer 1871 -

John Jay has has issues of these reports from 1912-1992 we have digitized the reports from 1912-1922 with the Internet Archive.

These reports are digitally available from Columbia University for the years 1885-1921.

  1885
1886
1887
1888
1889
1890
1891
1892
1893
1894
1895
1896
1898
1899
1900
1901
1902
1903
1904
1914-1917
1921

NYPD Annual reports 1915-1922 are also available from HathiTrust

See also: District Attorney Reports

The District Attorney's wrote annual reports which include famous cases investigated and prosecuted.

New York (State). Office of the District Attorney (Kings County) [Brooklyn] Report of the District Attorney of Kings County, N.Y. Special Collections - KFN 6158 .A24b Library has 1954-55,  1985

New York (State). District Attorney (New York County, N.Y.) [Manhattan]: Annual report of the chief clerk of the District Attorney's Office, county of New York. Special Collections - KFN 6158 .A24a  Holdings: 1940,1944,1946/1948-1949/1954,1977/1978-1979

A typescript copy of the DA Report for NY County for 1943 is available in the Special Collections Room by appointment.

Historical Statistics

Try searching CUNY+ with the following subject heading to find the various NYPD crime statistics publications:

Criminal statistics -- New York (State) -- New York -- Periodicals

Police -- New York (State) -- New York -- Statistics -- Periodicals

Reports of crimes and arrests by NYPD precinct are available in the Statistical Reports, complaints and arrests is available in paper 1972-2001 on our open Special Collections shelves HV7597 .B32 Previous to 1974, this report was titled  Statistical report, crime and related activity complaints and arrests of which the library holds only the Jan-April 1966 report, available by appointment in our special collections room -HV7597 .B32. This title is also digitally available at Hathi Trust 1902-1922 open access, 1923-1968 search only. Complaints and Arrests is no longer produced on paper and is instead published weekly online as Weekly Crime Statistics from the NYPD
 
Many Crime and other statistics are reported in the NYPD Annual Reports John Jay has issues of these reports from 1912-1992 - see also the left hand column which provides links to digital versions of these reports.
 
The NYPD issued a report on Historical Crime Data from 2000-2010

The reports and information page on the NYPD website is where they post their occasional reports

Articles on NYPD Statistics

A few articles discussing NYPD and Crime Statistics

Eterno, J. A., & Silverman, E. B. (2010). The NYPD's Compstat: compare statistics or compose statistics?  International Journal Of Police Science & Management, 12(3), 426-449. doi:10.1350/ijps.2010.12.3.195

Compstat. Eli B. Silverman. Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement. Ed. Larry E. Sullivan, M. R. Haberfeld, Marie Simonetti Rosen, and Dorothy Moses Schulz. Vol. 1: State and Local.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference, 2005. p82-87.

Crime Statistics. Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and Global Perspectives. Ed. David S. Clark. Vol. 1.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2007. p336-337.

Crime Statistics and Reporting. Marvin D. Free, Jr. Encyclopedia of Race and Crime.. Ed. Helen Taylor Greene and Shaun L. Gabbidon. Vol. 1.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2009. p161-165.

Crime Rates. Vincent F. Sacco. Encyclopedia of Social Problems. Ed. Vincent N. Parrillo. Vol. 1.  Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2008. p182.

Firearms Discharge Assault Reports

The NYPD Firearms Discharge Assault Reports were created as a response to Department Order SOP 9 (s. 69) - they are produced by the NYPD Police Academy Firearms and Tactics Section. These reports were discussed recently in the NY Times and obtained by the NY-ACLU from the NYPD by FOIL.

John Jay has these reports in paper form from 1986-2009, most of which were acquired as part of the James Fyfe Papers. Some are also available from the NYC and NY-ACLU websites. The NYPD aggregated some of the data from these reports 1971-2010 in charts they titled NYPD Shooting Restraint.

1997 Firearms Discharge Assault Report on the NY-ACLU website

1998 Firearms Discharge Assault Repor on the NY-ACLU website

1999 Firearms Discharges on the NY-ACLU website

2000 Firearms Discharges on the NY-ACLU website

2001 Firearms Discharge Report on the NY-ACLU website

2002 Firearms Discharge Assault Report on the NY-ACLU website

2003 Firearms Discharge Report on the NY-ACLU website

2004 Firearms Discharge Assault Report on the NY-ACLU website

2005 Firearms Discharge Assault Report on the NY-ACLU website

2006 Firearms Discharge Report on the NY-ACLU website

2007 Annual Firearms Discharge Report on the NYC website

2009 Annual Firearms Discharge Report on the NYC website

2010 Annual Firarms Discharge Report on the NYC website

2011 Annual Firearms Discharge Report on the NYcwebsite

Dr. James Fyfe was a professor at John Jay College and held various positions in the NYPD, and a was specialist in the use of excessive force by Police. Here's a selection of his articles mentioning these reports.

Use of Force. James J. Fyfe. Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement. Ed. Larry E. Sullivan, M. R. Haberfeld, Marie Simonetti Rosen, and Dorothy Moses Schulz. Vol. 1: State and Local Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference, 2005. p478-481.

 Fyfe, James J. (1981). Who Shoots? A look at officer race and police shooting. Journal Of Police Science & Administration, 9(4), 367-382.


See also:

Evaluation of the New York City Police Department firearm training and firearm-discharge review process. Rand Corporation 2008. Special Collections or Reference - HV8148 .N52 E83 2008 also available as an ebook here and free to everyone

CompStats

Weekly Crime Statistics from the NYPD "CompStat figures are preliminary and subject to further analysis and revision. Crime statistics reflect New York State Penal Law definitions and differ from the crime categories to the F.B.I. Uniform Crime Reporting System."

See also, Columbia University, NYC Documents Guide, which lists many related statistical reports.


The NYPD Crime Map for New York City is available here. 

See also the NYPD Crime Statistics page

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

Crime in the United States "...is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. Use the new online UCR Data Tool to research crime statistics from as far back as 1960." The charts and tables available online might be easier to use in the book, available at Reference - HV6787 .A3 (1998-present) The latest volume available at the Reference Desk.

While this is national crime data, some of the tables are arranged by cities and counties, so it is possible to look at NYC data, for example, this table which arranges arrests trends by city and county.