Gale Ebooks (Virtual Reference Library)
Another database for reliable background information on a topic, enter your keyword search terms (e.g. immigration and history and United States) in the search box, below. Also provides access to the full text of a reference (i.e. encyclopedia, handbook, etc.) articles.
A few results from G.V.R.L.:
The Judiciary and U.S. Immigration Policy, page(s): 243-281. Immigration : A Documentary and Reference Guide Thomas Cieslik . Ed. Thomas Cieslik, David Felsen, and Akis Kalaitzidis . Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
The Security Debate and Immigration, page(s): 211-241. Immigration : A Documentary and Reference Guide Thomas Cieslik . Ed. Thomas Cieslik, David Felsen, and Akis Kalaitzidis . Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
Illegal Immigration, page(s): 91-105. Legal and Illegal Immigration 2015 ed. Information Plus Reference Series Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016.
Immigration, page(s): 203-216. Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Roger Daniels . Ed. Richard Dean Burns, Alexander DeConde, and Fredrik Logevall . Vol. 2. 2nd ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002.
The New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965 by
Listen to a short interview with Mary WatersHost: Chris Gondek | Producer: Heron & Crane Salsa has replaced ketchup as the most popular condiment. A mosque has been erected around the corner. The local hospital is staffed by Indian doctors and Philippine nurses, and the local grocery store is owned by a Korean family. A single elementary school may include students who speak dozens of different languages at home. This is a snapshot of America at the turn of the twenty-first century. The United States has always been a nation of immigrants, shaped by successive waves of new arrivals. The most recent transformation began when immigration laws and policies changed significantly in 1965, admitting migrants from around the globe in new numbers and with widely varying backgrounds and aspirations. This comprehensive guide, edited and written by an interdisciplinary group of prominent scholars, provides an authoritative account of the most recent surge of immigrants. Twenty thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. These are followed by comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin. Based on the latest U.S. Census data and the most recent scholarly research, The New Americans is an essential reference for students, scholars, and anyone curious about the changing face of America.
Immigration in the Twenty-First Century by
Immigration in the Twenty-First Century is a comprehensive examination of the enduring issues surrounding immigration and immigrants in the United States, beginning with a look at the history of immigration policy, followed by an examination of the legislative and legal debates waged over immigration and settlement policies today and concluding with a consideration of the continuing challenges of achieving immigration reform in the United States. The authors also discuss the issues facing immigrants in the United States, from the reception of immigrants within the native population to the relationship between minorities and immigrants. Immigration and immigration policy continues to be a hot topic on the campaign trail, and in all branches of federal and state government. U.S. Immigrants and Immigration Policies in the Twenty-First Century provides students with the tools and context they need to understand these complex issues.