Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Science: Citation management software

By Ellen Sexton. How to get authoritative information on science topics. How to find articles, books and more written by scientists.

What is RefWorks?

Login to RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic citation management service that is useful for tracking citations, generating bibliographies, citing sources in papers, and organizing your research. RefWorks is provided by the Sealy Library through the student technology fee. RefWorks allows you to:

  • Create your own database of citations housed on the RefWorks server which can be accessed by any web-accessible computer. You can get access to your data from anywhere! Home, work, on campus or off.
  • Download selected results from library periodical databases and OneSearch.
  • Generate bibliographies effortlessly in APA and many other bibliographic styles (MLA, Chicago, Turabian,etc.)
  • Write papers using MS Word and insert citations as you write and generate a reference list.
  • Export your RefWorks database to your personal computer for use in other bibiliographic management software programs such as EndNote, ProCite, & Reference Manager.

Take a look at this general brochure for an overview of RefWorks.

RefWorks also has its own YouTube channel with helpful tutorials to get you started.

Other citation managers

The products below are available for use without charge ( at least for the basic model) to anyone.  Unlike Refworks, they are NOT supported by the college or library.  But they are fairly straightforward to use.  All will generate bibliographies. 

Mendeley   "Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research."

Zotero   "Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources."

Just need to cite stuff now for your paper?

 

MS Word lets you create a bibliography.  Here's how...