Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Science: Biology & Biodiversity

By Ellen Sexton. How to get authoritative information on science topics. How to find articles, books and more written by scientists.

Natural history & environmental web sites

ABOUT NEW YORK:

American Museum of Natural History: Biodiversity Assessment Handbook for New York, by Erik Kiviat & Elizabeth A. Johnson c. 2013. 

American Museum of Natural History: Research in the Metropolitan Area: Conserving nature in human modified landscapes.

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has information on biodiversity of NY (with links to local organizations), and publishes the New York State Conservationist magazine.

 

WORLDWIDE

Animal Diversity Web an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology, from the University of Michigan.

ARKive collects films, photographs and audio recordings of the world's species.

BirdCast  Bird migration forecasts. 

BISON  Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON), a resource for biological occurrence data from the United States. U.S. Geological Survey. 

Cornell Ornithology Lab's All About Birds   site.

Encyclopedia of Life. The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on earth - text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more - all freely available on-line. 

Encyclopedia of earth

Explore - a - topic from the  National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian), including Ocean Portal.

Wildlife Conservation Society (New York).

Zoological Society of London.

US Dept. of Agriculture National Resources Conservation Service. "Our goal is not just a sustainable, nutritious, abundant food supply, but also thriving ecosystems that support a diversity of life." 

National Resources Defence Council. Environmental action group.

IUCN Red List of endangered animals.

Natural resources & environment links collected by the National Agricultural Library.

Tropicos database, at Missouri Botanical Garden. Botanical nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data, with images.

 

 

 

Other biology web sites

Interactive frog dissection, from the University of Virginia.

Inside the cell.  From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Genetic Science Learning Center. From the University of Utah. 

Nutrition resources collected by the National Agricultural Library.

BioRxiv is a preprint server for biology articles at  Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory..

Databases to use to find articles

General Science Full Text  Great small database that indexes a selection of prestigious science journals and magazines.  Easy to search, and easy to get to the articles.

 

 SCOPUS  A very large index from publisher Elsevier that searches articles in 14,000 peer-reviewed journals, including the major forensic science journals.  Includes science, technology, social science and medicine.    Links to full text of articles, if available.

 

 Web of Science   The strength of this database is that it tells you how many times an article has been cited by others. 

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management      Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection     A subject collection of periodicals and unique reference sources from Gale Academic Onefile

GreenFILE  Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Risk Abstracts     Links to articles dealing with risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Some biology books in the library