National Institutes of Health, science education - genes.
DNA Learning Center. Educational materials from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Deciphering life's enigmatic code (about the Noble Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1962).
ENCODE. Building a list of functional elements in the human genome, including elements that act at the protein and RNA levels, and regulatory elements that control cells and circumstances in which a gene is active. The Nature magazine ENCODE site allows access to published articles linked by themes. (these are the articles that repudiate the idea of "junk" DNA.)
Federal DNA Database Unit (FDDU) of the FBI. "serves the greater forensic community by aiding investigations through hit confirmations against individuals whose profiles are in the National DNA Index System (NDIS). Agencies submit blood or buccal samples to the unit from individuals who are required by law to do so. These include individuals convicted of, arrested for, or facing charges of certain qualifying federal crimes or convicted of qualifying District of Columbia offenses, as well as non-U.S. citizens who are detained under the authority of the United States. FDDU then produces a DNA profile for each of these individuals and uploads it to the NDIS, which is part of the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS)."
GenBank. GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Genetics and Public Policy Center. At Johns Hopkins University. Aims to help policymakers, the press, and the public understand and respond to the challenges and opportunities of genetic medicine and its potential to transform global public health.
Human Genome (Wellcome Trust site, in the U.K.). "A free resource allowing you to explore the human genome, your health and your future".
Human Genome Project. Completed in 2003, the Human Genome Project (HGP) was a 13-year project to identify all the approximately 20,000-25,000 genes in human DNA, determine the sequences of the 3 billion chemical base pairs that make up human DNA, store this information in databases, improve tools for data analysis,, transfer related technologies to the private sector, and address the ethical, legal, and social issues (ELSI) that may arise from the project.
Innocence Project. The project is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted people through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
International Barcode for Life project - a global collaboration of biodiversity scientists creating a DNA barcode reference library for all multi-cellular life.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). A part of the National library of Medicine, advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
National Human Genome Research Institute. (NIH). U.S. Federal agency for genomics research, focusing on human health and disease.
DNA Forensics by
This book reveals amazing examples of what has and is happening with science and DNA forensics. The public now knows the DNA molecule by sight and how it can assist in solving crimes such as murder and sexual assaults. In this book, the authors demonstrate how DNA forensics has developed over the years. DNA has assisted in finding criminals and releasing those who were wrongly accused, including prisoners on death row and a few who were already executed!
Forensic DNA Evidence Interpretation by
Now in its second edition, Forensic DNA Evidence Interpretation is the most comprehensive resource for DNA casework available today. Written by leaders in the fields of biology and statistics, including a contribution from Peter Gill, the father of DNA analysis, the book emphasizes the interpretation of test results and provides the necessary formulae in an easily accessible manner. This latest edition is fully updated and includes current and emerging techniques in this fast-moving field. The book begins by reviewing all pertinent biology, and then provides information on every aspect of DNA analysis. This includes modern interpretation methods and contemporary population genetic models available for estimating DNA frequencies or likelihood ratios. Following a chapter on procedures for validating databases, the text presents overviews and performance assessments of both modern sampling uncertainty methods and current paternity testing techniques, including new guidelines on paternity testing in alignment with the International Society for Forensic Genetics. Later chapters discuss the latest methods for mixture analysis, LCN (ultra trace) analysis and non-autosomal (mito, X, and Y) DNA analysis. The text concludes with an overview of procedures for disaster victim identification and information on DNA intelligence databases. Highlights of the second edition include: New information about PCR processes, heterozygote balance and back and forward stuttering New information on the interpretation of low template DNA, drop models and continuous models Additional coverage of lineage marker subpopulation effects, mixtures and combinations with autosomal markers This authoritative book provides a link among the biological, forensic, and interpretative domains of the DNA profiling field. It continues to serve as an invaluable resource that allows forensic scientists, technicians, molecular biologists and attorneys to use forensic DNA evidence to its greatest potential.
Understanding DNA. 3rd edition. 2004. by 
Forensic DNA Analysis by 
DNA: Promise and peril. by Wikipedia list of biological databases for genomes, protein sequences models and interactions, signal tranduction and metabolic pathways, taxonomies, etc.