Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Science: How to find articles

By Ellen Sexton. How to get authoritative information on science topics. How to find articles, books and more written by scientists.

Science database list

Use bibliographic databases to find articles

SCOPUS   This huge database from Elsevier searches 14,000 peer-reviewed journal titles from more than 4,000 international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine, published from the 1960s to the present.  SFX (Find It!) buttons may link to full text.Especially good for biomedical topics.

 

General Science Full Text  (Wilson)    An index to articles published in a small but carefully chosen selection of periodicals, including the top science journals and magazines.  From 1984 to the present.           Alternate access via library barcode 

Applied Science and Technology Full Text  (Wilson) .  Articles in journals and trade publications covering applied science, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology from 1983 to the present (inlcudes a retrospective index from 1913-1983].   Alternate access via library barcode

 

MathSciNet  Articles in mathematics from the American Mathematical Society.

Medline with EBSCOhost interface  or  Medline with PubMed interface National Library of Medicine's huge index to the medical and biomedical literature.  The content is the same, but the search interface looks and works differently.  The EBSCOhost version has the advantage of linking to whatever full text we have available.

 

 

Click here to see all our databases related to science. 

What is peer review?

The primary formal scientific communication device remains the academic, peer reviewed journal article.

Most articles published in academic journals are peer-reviewed.  These articles report the results of research and make up the permanent record of scientific literature.    Peer review is the name given to the process by which articles are chosen for publication in scholarly academic journals.  The editor asks other scientists to comment on a manuscript before s/he decides to publish it.  These peer scientists assess the quality of the work reported in the manuscript.

Definitions of peer review (taken from Oxford Reference Online):

peer review    Evaluation of scientific, academic, or professional work by others working in the same field.

peer review [De].   The process used by publishers and editors of academic journals to provide a chance for scholars to examine and critique a paper or monograph before it is published to help ensure its integrity and veracity.

peer review      1. the evaluation by (other) experts of a research project for which a grant is sought, a paper  received for  publication, etc.    2. a review of commercial, professional, or academic efficiency, competence, etc. by others in the same occupation.

peer review.  To the public, peer review is the ultimate guarantor of good science. Through its process of expert judgment of experts, peer review preserves science's autonomy while assuring society that the money it devotes to science is  well spent. ……

 

More about peer review