Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books at John Jay library
The Economic, Social and Political Elements of Climate Change by A unique feature of this book is its strong practice-oriented nature: it contains a wide range of papers dealing with the social, economic and political aspects of climate change, exemplifying the diversity of approaches to climate change management taking place all over the world, in a way never seen before. In addition, the book describes a number of projects and other initiatives happening in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin American and the Australasian region, providing a profile of the diversity of works taking place today.
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
A Short Introduction to Climate Change by A Short Introduction to Climate Change provides a clear, balanced and well documented account of one of the most important issues of our time. It covers developments in climate science over the past 250 years and shows that recent climate change is more than the result of natural variability. It explains the difference between weather and climate by examining changes in temperature, rainfall, Arctic ice and ocean currents. It also considers the consequences of our use of fossil fuels and discusses some of the ways to reduce further global warming. Tony Eggleton dispenses with scientific jargon to provide a reader-friendly explanation of the science of climate change. Concise but comprehensive, and richly illustrated with a wealth of full-colour figures and photographs, A Short Introduction to Climate Change is essential reading for anyone who has an interest in climate science and in the future of our planet. Exclusive! View the official book launch for this book!http://www.youtube.com/watch'v=duBEZr6JQkQ&feature=share&list=ECE60440370CEE815B
Call Number: Stacks QC903 .E34 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Global Climate Change and Human Health by Learn the foundations of climate science and human health Global Climate Change and Human Health examines the environmental crisis from a public health and clinical health perspective, giving students and clinicians the information they need to prepare for the future of health care. Edited by George Luber, associate director for climate change at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and Jay Lemery, associate professor at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and section chief of Wilderness and Environmental Medicine in the Department of Emergency Medicine, and including chapters written by luminaries in the field, this landmark book provides a comprehensive introduction to climate change and health. Students will learn about climate changes direct effect on health, including extreme weather events, altered and degraded ecosystems, and threats to human security and welfare. Discussions on mitigation and adaptation strategies, including disease surveillance, communications, and greening health care, as well as a primer on the core concepts of climate change science are presented. Each chapter has a specific section on the clinical correlations of the impact of climate change on health. Informative illustrations depict increasing aeroallergens, shifting vector habitats, emergent risks, and more. Visual teaching materials broken down by chapter (including PowerPoint lecture slides) are available for instructors. This book shows how human health will be --and already has been -- affected and how health care practitioners need to start preparing. Understand the science behind climate change and climate variability Learn how the availability of food and clean water will affect public health Consider the diseases that will surge as vector populations swell Discover mitigation strategies targeted toward the health care community Understanding how climate change affects human rights and how international institutions are responding Increased temperatures bring algal blooms that threaten clean water. Degraded air quality brings allergies, asthma, and respiratory diseases. Ground pollutants lower the nutritional value of food crops. It's clear that climate change is very much a public health concern, and Global Climate Change and Human Health helps those preparing to be on the front lines of health care.
Publication Date: 2015
Law & climate change
Climate Change - International Law and Global Governance by The two-volume publication is one of the first attempts to systematically address both international climate change law and global climate change governance. The two-volume publication deals with international law and the multiple regulatory regimes reflecting fragmentation in the absence of a universal climate change regime. International climate change law, global climate governance and diplomacy are interrelated and extremely complex: The publications explore these areas from a variety of doctrinal, transdisciplinary and thematic perspectives. Volume I assesses the most pressing impacts of climate change on various international law regimes. The main focus lies on international climate change law as a new international law discipline; climate change and human rights; climate change, international trade and investment law; the law of the sea and sea level rise; judicial review and international climate change litigation; other subjects such as mitigation regulation, natural resource management and climate-engineering. Volume II reflects on the United Nations Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the most pressing impacts of climate change on international diplomacy and global governance. This is highlighted from various transdisciplinary and geopolitical perspectives with a special focus on the challenge of strengthening national and international climate change policy, sustainable development and increasing equity around the world, which goes beyond the capacity of national governments. Various international climate change cooperation and protection efforts are analysed, also in the context of global security, climate induced migration movements, adaptation and the loss and damage debate.
Publication Date: 2013
In the Wilds of Clilmate Law by As the challenge of climate change begins to impact upon all aspects of everyday life, the need for a wider approach to its legal implications is never more urgent. This unique text from some of the country's top legal academics as well as Stanford University's Professor Armin Rosencranz, illustrates with disturbing clarity how legal policy, litigation, investment, corporations law, labour law, property law, international law, and WTO law all intersect with the environmental legal framework when considering the impacts of climate change.
Publication Date: 2010
Independent organizations, non-profits
International and non-U.S. government agencies
U.S. Federal government agencies
Global warming skeptics and deniers
Databases to use to find articles
General Science Full Text
Great small database that indexes a selection of prestigious science journals and magazines. Easy to search, and easy to get to the articles.
Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies from the Academic OneFile and General OneFile databases.
Scholarly, government and general-interest information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Timelines of climate change