LibGuides: Science: General

Science encyclopedias

Gale Encyclopedia of Science (5th edition)
Call Number: Electronic book
ISBN: 9781414498492
Publication Date: 2014
Companion Encyclopedia of Science in the Twentieth Century by John Krige (Editor); Dominique Pestre (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic book
ISBN: 9781136483325
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories by Robert E. Krebs; Rae Dejur (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780313340055
Publication Date: 2008. Greenwood Press.
Electronic book.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 10th edition.
Call Number: Reference Q121 .M3 2007
ISBN: 9780071441438
Publication Date: 2007.
20 volume set, in reference area, upper level of library.
Science and Technology 2012
Call Number: Reference Q121 .M312 2012
ISBN: 9780071774031
Publication Date: 2011.

Evaluating science news stories

I don't know what to believe: Making sense of science stories

Top science journals and magazines

Nature (publication)
International weekly journal of science. Contains news, editorials and peer reviewed articles. Published in London.
Science (AAAS publication)
Prestigious weekly from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Includes a magazine section and peer reviewed articles.

Journals: (contain peer reviewed articles)

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Journal of the American Medical Association.

Lancet.

New England Journal of Medicine.

Journal of immunology.

JOVE: the Journal of Visualized Experiments. A video journal for demonstrating laboratory techniques. (Mostly open -source but unfortunately not all articles are available).

Magazines: (written for the general public; do not contain peer reviewed articles)

Browzine
Use this tool to browse through all the academic journals that our library subscribes to. Shows the table of contents of latest issues, and links to full articles. Use the web version or download the app. Please note it is not possible to search for articles on a topic; it's just for browsing.

Organizations

American Chemical Society.

American Museum of Natural History.

IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature. (the world’s oldest and largest global environmental organization.)

NASA. National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

National Academy of Sciences.

NOAA. federal agency focusing on oceans and atmosphere (includes weather and climate)

Nobel Prize official website.

Public Library of Science blogs and journals for biology & medicine.

Science.gov is a gateway to the enormous amounts of information produced by U.S. Federal scientists. Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies.

Smithsonian. National Museum of Natural History.

United States Geological Survey.

World Wildlife Fund.