Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Sustainability and Environmental Justice

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

Provide:

  • Up-to-date information
  • Focus on a specific aspect of topic
  • Opinion/point of view
  • Original/timely source material

 

What is a Scholarly Journal?

   

    Scholarly, Peer Reviewed and/or Refereed Journals generally have:

    Original research

    Rigorous acceptance process by scholars in the field

    Author’s credentials presented

    Abstract (summary)

    Footnotes at the bottom of the page or endnotes at the end of the article

    Bibliography or a list of references at the end of the article

 

 

Keyword Searching

Searching in a database is different than searching in Google.  Databases do NOT like sentences.  So when you are searching for articles in OneSearch or one of our databases, you want to write down as many keywords and phrases that best describe your topic. Once you have those keywords/phrases, try different combinations in order to construct a search strategy.  Use the word "and" when combining your keywords/phrases in one of our databases.  You do not need to link your keywords/phrases with "and" in OneSearch.

Start with keyword(s) and/or phrase(s) that are as specific as possible:

food justice and government policy and new york

food justice and public health and new york

If you are dissatisfied with too few search results, broaden your search by adding alternative keywords and phrases:

food justice and government policy

(food justice or food insecurity) and new york

(food justice or food insecurity) and public health

Finding Articles in OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles in John Jay's Lloyd Sealy library. The search box can be found on our library's homepage:

undefined

 

To search for articles only, select Articles (see above) in the OneSearch search box on our homepage OR limit your results to articles (below) by clicking on Articles once you've performed your search: 

undefined

 

If you're searching for peer-reviewed journal articles, select that option in the OneSearch search box from our homepage (see above) or limit your results (below) after you've performed your search:

undefined

 

Click on the Full text available link in OneSearch to access the article in which you are interested. You will first be sent to the John Jay login page if you have not already logged in. Use your John Jay email ID and password to login.  If you do not know your John Jay email username/password or you are experiencing problems with your login, go to reset.jjay.cuny.edu to either set up or reset your John Jay email account.  Contact the DoIt Helpdesk at 212.237.8200 if you need further assistance.

Finding Articles in Databases for Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

You may access databases by clicking on Databases in the middle of our library's homepage then clicking on Select from popular databases or choose your database by subject or title:

 

undefined

 

Here is a listing of databases for magazine, journal and/or newspaper articles that include information on topics related to Sustainability and Environmental Justice:

Academic Search Complete 

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text 

Criminal Justice Periodical Index

EconLit

Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies and Policy

GreenFILE

National Geographic

ScienceDirect

Social Services Abstracts

SocINDEX with Full Text 

Sociological Abstracts (CSA) 

Urban Studies Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Once you select a database, you will first be sent to the John Jay login page if you have not already logged in. Use your John Jay email ID and password to login.  If you do not know your John Jay email username/password or you are experiencing problems with your login, go to reset.jjay.cuny.edu to either set up or reset your John Jay email account.  Contact the DoIt Helpdesk at 212.237.8200 if you need further assistance.