Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Sustainability and Environmental Justice

Selected Readings in Sustainability and Environmental Justice

It may be helpful to do some background reading on environmental justice and sustainability before you begin researching a specific topic.  These readings can provide a solid understanding of the general topic from different perspectives, help you find a more specific focus within the larger subject, and give you ideas for how to outline your research paper.  Here are a list of some selected readings on the topic:

Banerjee, D., & Bell, M. M. (2008).  Environmental Justice. In R. T. Schaefer (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (Vol. 1, pp. 442-445). SAGE Publications.

Byrne, J. A. (2013). Environmental Justice. Oxford Bibliographies in Geography. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780199874002-0008

Clark, E. (2014). Sustainability Science. Oxford Bibliographies in Geography. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780199874002-0100

Collin, R. M. (2011). Sustainability. In M. Shally-Jensen (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues (Vol. 1, pp. 305-311). ABC-CLIO.

Engel, J. R. (2014). Sustainability. In B. Jennings (Ed.), Bioethics (4th ed., Vol. 6, pp. 3040-3051). Macmillan Reference USA.

Fearnside, P. M. (2019). Sustainable Development. Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780199830060-0227

Figueroa, R. M. (2005). Environmental Justice. In C. Mitcham (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (Vol. 2, pp. 665-670). Macmillan Reference USA.

Lee, W. L. (2019). Environmental Ethics. Oxford Bibliographies in Public Health. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780190221911-0085

Marsden, T. (2009). Sustainability. In R. Kitchin & N. Thrift (Eds.), International Encyclopedia of Human Geography (Vol. 11, pp. 103-108). Elsevier.

McElwee, P., Fernández-Llamazares, A., Thorpe, M. A., Whyte, K. P., Middleton, B. R., Reed, K., Sy, W. C., & Moldawer, A. M. (2018). Indigenous EcologiesOxford Bibliographies in Ecology. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780199830060-0199

South, N., Brisman, A., & McClanahan, B. (2014). Green Criminology. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology.  Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0161

Temper, L. (2019). Environmental Justice: Approaches, Dimensions, and Movements. Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology. Oxford University Press.  https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780199830060-0209

Williams, B. (2003). Environmental Justice. In K. Christensen & D. Levinson (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Community (Vol. 2, pp. 458-462). SAGE Reference. 

 

Issues to Explore

The Sustainability and Environmental minor at John Jay College is a multidisciplinary pursuit including a range of academic disciplines.  Having a particular area and/or issue on which to focus will help to develop your research query and result in finding relevant resources for your assignment.  Below are some suggestions of course related issues you may wish to explore.  Some topics listed are broad in nature, and therefore, may need to be narrowed.
 

conservation

natural resources

ecological balance

climate change

green criminology

environmental inequalities

pollution and recycling

renewable energy and social movements

energy efficiency practices

clean technology and chemical processes

environmental justice and political/economic initiatives

environmental justice and urban planning

environmental racism and ethics

human behavior and natural resources

water quality and economics

air quality and political issues

environmental crimes and water

alternative sources of energy

sustainable nutrition and social/economic inequities

eco art and design

wildlife crime and prevention/regulations

environmental economics and regulation/policy

global catastrophe and responsibility

literature and ecology

environmental ethics and global responsibility

NYC ecology and social/economic inequalities

food justice and government responsibility

environmental justice and public health

sustainability and human behavior

renewable energy and political initiatives/economic initiatives

environmental ethics and corporations

ecology of NYC

environmental sociology and population growth

food justice

Get Help From a Reference Librarian

    Keep Calm and Ask A Librarian

 

 

Need books, journal and/or magazine articles? 

Don't know where to start?

reference librarian can guide you through the research process.

     

 

(click to contact a librarian)

 

 

 

Visit us in person at the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of the Library

Call us at (212) 237-8246 

Email us We'll get back to you as soon as we can, usually within one business day.

Chat with us