Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Sustainability and Environmental Justice

Reference Materials: Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.

Reference materials are a good way to begin your research on a specific topic.  Finding a reference article on your specific topic helps:

 

   Brainstorm for Topic Ideas

   Topic Overview

   Top Formation (how to think about your topic)

   Topic Breakdown (relevant issues)

   Vocabulary/Terms (use when searching for additional sources)

   Bibliography (list of additional relevant books and/or articles)

Online Encyclopedias

Begin your research by finding a reference article (encyclopedia or handbook) on your specific topic.  This is provide you with a solid foundation and understanding of your topic. Here is a list of online reference resources on sustainability and environmental justice that may contain articles on your topic. Try using different combinations of keywords and phrases to find articles that give you a solid understanding of the key issues.

 

Reference Databases:

Gale eBooks

  • Provides a multitude of diverse subject encyclopedias that discuss issues related to sustainability and environmental justice
  • Type keywords/phrase into search box
  • Browse encyclopedias related to the Environment, Science and/or Technology and more

Oxford Bibliographies

  • Authoritative research guides by scholars and librarians worldwide
  • Annotated bibliographies with subject introductions
  • Search for entries on key academic concepts 

Sage Knowledge--Reference 

 

Online Encyclopedia Titles:

Falkner, R. (2013). The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy. Wiley-Blackwell.

Newton, D. (2009). Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook (2nd ed.). ABC-CLIO.

Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos, A., & Brooks, V. (Eds.). (2017). Research Methods in Environmental Law. Edward Elgar Publishing. https://doi.org/10.4337/9781784712570

South, N., & Brisman, A. (2013). Routledge International Handbook of Green Criminology. Routledge.  https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203093658

Stevenson, R. B., Wals, A. E. J., Brody, M., & Dillon, J. (2013). International Handbook of Research on Environmental Education. Taylor and Francis. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331

Techera, E. J., Hossain, B. J., & Chowdhury, T. M. R. (Eds.). (2012). (2013). Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law. Routledge.