Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Graduate Student Resources: Research

Research Ethics

CUNY Human Research Protection Program (HRRP)

THe HRRP is responsible for the protection of the rights and welfare of human subjects. All CUNY faculty members, postdoctoral scholars, graduate and undergraduate students involved in human subjects research investigators must complete certain requirements to ensure compliance with the highest ethical standards.

Support for your research

John Jay's Office for the Advancement of Research provides information about funding opportunities.

Research opportunities

The Student Research page outlines some potential opportunities. To find out what research is happening at John Jay, see the Faculty Research information and the latest issues of John Jay Research News. Very often, faculty members will provide opportunities for students to assist and collaborate on their research projects.

Graduate Program Subject Guides

Use these library guides to help locate resources in your particular area of graduate study:

There are many more subject guides available which may also be useful in your research. You can also search databases by subject.

Other useful resources

These databases can also be invaluable to your graduate-level research:

WorldCat

A union catalog of libraries around the world. Includes books, media, manuscripts, and other formats dating back to the 12th century.

Google Scholar

Crawls the content of publishers' websites, scholarly journals, indexes, academic websites, institutional repositories, etc. to find information of a scholarly nature. Does not provide comprehensive coverage of any one field. Enter through the library's website so that you will be linked to the library's licensed resources.

Evaluating information sourcces

Questions to ask of every source in your research:

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Can the information be verified somewhere else?
  • Does the information seem to be free of bias and emotion?
  • Are there obvious spelling, grammar or presentation errors?

For more help on evaluating sources, see this guide.

While most of the library databases contain peer-reviewed journals, if you want to be certain about a particular title, you can look it up at the periodicals directory Ulrich's Web. "Refereed" is another term for peer reviewed, so you'll see a referee jersey icon next to a title indicating a peer reviewed publication. You will also find other information here including audience, editorial contact info, reviews, acceptance rate, etc. 

Graduate Studies Librarian

Research Toolbox

RefWorks is an online citation and research management - an ideal took for collecting and organizing your research, keeping notes, citing sources, sharing resources, and more. This guide offers more help on using it.

Check out the Research Tutorials guide for help with searching databases, research, writing and citing. The library also offers regular workshops.

The library doesn't have it?

As a graduate student, you can access books and articles not owned by the Lloyd Sealy Library through Interlibrary Loan. You're always welcome to take advantage of the CUNY Libraries Inter-Campus Services [CLICS], too.


You can also take advantage of a wealth of other libraries around the city and state. Find out where and how with this guide to other libraries.