This is the "Getting started" page of the "Forensic psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Forensic psychology  

A guide to finding forensic psychology information, by Ellen Sexton.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/forensicpsychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General psychology encyclopedias

Electronic encyclopedia collections include:

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference [Online Premium].   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage Knowledge Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.

Some excellent encyclopedias are available in print fromat, in the reference area on the upper floor of the library:

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior - Vilanayur S. Ramachandran (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference HM1033 .E63 2012
ISBN: 9780123750006
Publication Date: 2012-03-02
Elsevier.

Cover Art
Handbook of Psychology, Forensic Psychology - Alan M. Goldstein (Editor); Irving B. Weiner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference BF121 .H1955 2003
ISBN: 0471264520
Publication Date: 2003-01-21

Cover Art
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology - Irving B. Weiner; W. Edward Craighead
Call Number: Reference BF31 .E52 2010
ISBN: 9780470170250
Publication Date: 2010-01-19
4th edition. Wiley.

 

Psychology & law dictionaries

Glossary of psychological terms.  From Gerrig, Richard J. & Philip G. Zimbardo. Psychology And Life, 16/e.  Published by Allyn and Bacon, Boston, MA. Copyright (c) 2002 by Pearson Education. Reprinted by permission of the publisher on the American Psychological Association website.

Mason, J. (1987). Butterworths medico-legal encyclopedia. Butterworths, London.  Most entries in this small one volume encyclopedia are about a half page long, with good short bibliographies. Most of the legal references are to English law, but mention is made of significant U.S. situations.  Reference law KD3395.A68M37 1987  Electronic version available in Lexis-Nexis Academic database.
Cover Art
Dictionary of forensic psychology - Towl, G.
Call Number: Reference RA1148 .D53 2008
ISBN: 1843922967
Publication Date: 2008
Note: Published in England so refers to the U.K medico-legal systems, not the U.S.

Cover Art
Sage glossary of the social and behavioral sciences - Sullivan, L. (Ed.).
Call Number: Reference Desk H41 .S24 2009
ISBN: 9781412951432
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Dictionary of psychology - Oxford University Press.
ISBN: 0199534063
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Black's law dictionary, 9th edition. - West.
Call Number: Kept at reference desk.
ISBN: 9780314199492
Publication Date: 2009
Electronic format available in Westlaw Campus database.

 

Electronic encyclopedia collections

These collections allow you to search across multiple different encyclopedias and dictionaries.  Using an encyclopedia is a great way to start your research, by getting an overview of the topic. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference Online Premium.   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage e-Reference Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.

 

What is forensic psychology?

Forensic psychology is concerned with the areas where psychology and the law meet, specifically the application of psychology to law. For a longer (and much better) explanation, John Jay students can read the article below:

Forensic psychology.  Roesch, R. (2000).  Forensic psychology. In: Kazdin, Alan E. (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Psychology, Vol. 3.   Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.  pp. 383-386.   

 

Notable forensic psychology reference books


Cover Art
Handbook of psychology. Volume 11, Forensic psychology [electronic resource]
Call Number: Print copies also available at Reference BF121 .H1955 2003 and behind the Reserve Desk.
ISBN: 0471264520
Noe: we have the second edition, 2013, in print format at Reference BF121 .H213 2013,. Unfortunately we do not have the second edition in electronic format, at the moment.

Cover Art
Criminal Psychology - Jacqueline B. Helfgott (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HV6080 .C7335 2013
ISBN: 9780313396076
Publication Date: 2013
Print format only. Volume 1. Theory and research -- Volume 2. Typologies, mental disorders, and profiles -- Volume 3. Implications for forensic assessment, policing and the courts -- Volume 4. Implications for juvenile justice, corrections, and reentry.

Cover Art
Handbook of Police Psychology - Jack Kitaeff (Editor)
Call Number: Printed copy at Reserve HV7936 .P75 H36 2011
ISBN: 9780203836170
Publication Date: 2011-02-11
Routledge.

Cover Art
The handbook of forensic psychology. 3rd edition. - Weiner, I and Hess, A. (Eds).
Call Number: Reference RA1148 .H36 2006
ISBN: 9780471692324
Good starting point for information on forensic psychology topics. It has over 900 pages with 28 chapters written by different experts, including John Jay College faculty. Most aspects of the field are covered, ranging from a history of the discipline to practical applications and professional practice. There are extensive bibliographies at the end of each chapter. Highly recommended.

Cover Art
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) - American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Print copies at Reserve and Reference Desks. RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Electronic book. The DSM-5 is "intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings"

Cover Art
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders IV -TR [electronic resource]
Call Number: Print copy also available at the Reference Desk RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000
ISBN: 0890420246
The DSM-IV was composed by the American Psychiatric Association to provide a consistent and uniform classification of mental disorders. It is the standard and the most common classification system used for describing mental disorders, and describes the identifying symptoms of each. This edition revises the text of the DSMV IV, but not the actual classification of disorders.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law - Brian L. Cutler (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412951890
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
Sage.

Cover Art
Handbook of juvenile forensic psychology
Call Number: Reference RA1148 .C35 2002
ISBN: 0787959480
Concerned mainly with interaction of juveniles with the criminal justice system, considering the juvenile as an offender, but it also has sections on family courts, custody, gangs, and relationships with the police. There are six sections: juveniles in the justice system, understanding incarcerated juveniles, assessing juveniles in the justice system, treating juveniles in the justice system, juveniles in family court and juveniles in dependency court.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip