Federal, State & Local Government Data, Budgets and Statistics
This is the "Sources About the Field of Public Administration" page of the "Public Management and Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Public Management and Administration  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/publicmanagement Print Guide RSS Updates

Sources About the Field of Public Administration Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Books

 

Below is a list of books on the practice of Public Management at the Lloyd Sealy Library. Don't forget to search our catalog for more books!

 

Books

The books listed below provide definitions or explanations of public administration concepts, terms and theories.


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of public administration and public policy - edited by Evan M. Berman ; Jack Rabin, founding editor
Call Number: Reference - JK9 .E526 2008
Brief articles covering all aspects of public administration including concepts, biographies, important court cases and organizations and agencies.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy - Schultz, David
Call Number: Reference - JK9 .E527 2004
One volume encyclopedia. Entries are arranged alphabetically from AARP to zero-based budgeting. Entries include concepts, government agencies and nonprofit organizations, biographies of major political individuals as well as key court cases.

Public Administration Dictionary - Chandler, Ralph C.
Call Number: John Jay College Reference JA 61 .C47 1988 Non Circulating

Organizations and Associations

Below are links to organizations and think tanks devoted to the practice or study of public administration and policy as well as subject related issues. Look for terms such as "library" or "publications" for studies and articles.

  • American Society for Public Administration
    Membership organization of public and non-profit administrators. Publishers of several journals and newsletters covering public administration. Sample issues of these publications may be available on the website.
  • National Academy of Public Administration
    This is an independent, non-partisan organization established by Congress to study and make recommendations on issues related to public administration. Reports and studies published by the Academy are available and searchable on their website by clicking on the Publications tab.
  • Pew Internet and American Life Project - Government
    Pew Research Center describes itself as "a nonpartisan, nonprofit "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
    Each report contains in-depth analysis and statistics on both the public's use of the Internet as well as the role of media and the Internet as they relate to various aspects of American life. These include: Government, politics and education as well as many other broad topics.

Think Tanks

  • Harvard Kennedy School - Think Tanks Directory
    Alphabetical linkable list to the major policy think tanks in the United States and abroad. A search box also allows for simple searching.
  • Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program
    TTCSP is operated by the International Relations Program at the University of Pennsylvania. TTCSP studies the role and activities of think tanks around the world. The organization publishes numerous studies as well as their Global Go To Report which contains rankings of Think Tanks as well as a statistical profile of think tanks.

Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip