Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NGO Information - Websites and Databases
NGO Databases and Directories
Portal providing links to NGO directories and databases. The listings are arranged by world region and then, within region, by country. While directories and databases are listed in English their content may only be available in the language of the country of origin. Compiled and operated by the Global Development Research Center.
Northwestern University Library's Listing of Intergovernmental Organizations
Alphabetical listing (with links) of intergovernmental agencies and all major divisions and agencies of the United Nations and the European Union.
United Nations Public Administration Network (UNPAN)
Reports, directory information and news of interest to global, regional and national institutions "devoted to public administration". In addition to news and reports on topics, the website also lists public administration schools and organizations around the world.
Country Information and Statistics - Websites and Databases
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.
Global Issues in Context
Provides international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Brings together news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search.
Terrific, easy-to-use site that compares country statistics on many, many topics (including crime, economy, education and health). You can type a search term in the search box or select a broad topic and then a subtopic from the drop down menu on the right-hand side of the page.
Use this site for a quick overview of each country including economic and social indicators.
More UN Data
Three columns allow you to scroll down and select information. Column entitled "databases" allows searching using many categories of country data compiled by the United Nations including social, population, education, labor, health, environment and economy.
World Bank - Country Data
Select a country from the list to retrieve information about that country's population and demographics, income, education, labor, health, and urban development. Each broad category can be clicked to then retrieve more detailed information.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.
Country Directories - Books