Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal, State & Local Government Finances, Revenue, Employment Statistics
Use Fedstats to search for national, state or local government generated statistics. Use the drop down menus to select a state or subject category or simply click on "search" to look for your terms across categories.After checking Fedstats, you may want to look on a particular agency or bureau website for more statistics. Look for the terms "statistics" or "data" on agency specific sites.
Although there are thousands of national, state and local
government websites, there are a few search engines that can
assist you in finding government information on a specific topic, or
specific information on an agency, department or bureau. Below are three
such search engines:
New York State Government Information Locator Service (NYS GILS)
A comprehensive and well-organized site for data and information on and by New York state government departments and agencies. This site also provides easy access to New York county, municipal and local government sites.
This very simple search engine allows you to use search terms in the search box at the top of the page or select one of the options ("Explore Topics", "Find Government Agencies A-Z", etc.) to drill down to more specific information.
USA.gov - Links to State and Local Websites
Click on the state name for a link to the state government page. These sites provide statistics and budgetary information for that state. Clicking on the state name also allows you to "drill down" for links to county, city or town sites. These sites will provide detailed financial (including budget), demographic and policy information.
Websites and Databases
American Community Survey
Search by zip code, city, county or state to retrieve a population, demographic, social and economic snapshot of that locality. This information can also be mapped or downloaded into a spreadsheet.
One can also retrieve these statistics by topic rather than locality by clicking on the subject term.
Council of State Governments
Information on this website is categorized by policy area (e.g., education, criminal justice) and also by geographic region.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Provides access to CQ publications available online including CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America and Supreme Court Yearbook. Also provides access to these CQ resources now available on the Sage Knowledge Platform: Congress and the Nation, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Document Series, Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
John Jay access URL:
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.
New York State Statistics
Economic and demographic data.
A lot of current and archival information on state policies and issues (health, education, criminal justice, etc. ). A great deal of information on state budgets and budget analysis.
Also includes PDF version of "State of the States" - covering a synopsis of major policy issues and initiatives over the past year with analysis as well as charts, graphs and statistics.