Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

History: World War One and World War Two: Links and Resources about World War Two

Guide for Library Research on World War One and World War Two

Links

Marine Homecoming by Norman Rockwell

Marine Homecoming by Norman Rockwell

 

On this page you can find links to materials available on the Internet concerning World War Two.

World War 2 Poster

World War 2 Poster

World War 2 Poster

World War 2 Poster

The text reads: "For the Motherland!"

Norman Rockwell

Willie Gillis at the U.S.O. The Saturday Evening Post

Willie Gillis at the U.S.O. The Saturday Evening Post (February 7, 1942) by Norman Rockwell


Norman Rockwell was an American painter and illustrator whose works are considered a reflection of American culture during the middle of the 20th century. His most famous works were cover illustrations done for The Saturday Evening Post magazine. For more information click HERE to take a look at the Norman Rockwell Museum.

Lloyd Sealy Library Video Search

Search the John Jay College Library Video Collection:

Links

World War 2 Poster

American Memory
Provides papers, photographs, maps, and more, covering all periods of American history.

Avalon Project
Documents in law, history and government, from ancient times through the 21st century (from Yale Law School).

European History Primary Sources
According to the site's information, it is "an index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe." 

Hansard, 1803-2005
Provides the official parliamentary debates from Great Britain. You can read the information from specific dates or search a time period for a particular topic.

Veterans History Project
First hand accounts from U.S. Veterans representing World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War and the Afghanistan & Iraq conflicts.

Naval Historical Center: Oral Histories of World War II
Contains oral histories of WWII from various theaters and battles, including the Pacific, Atlantic, Pearl Harbor, Normandy, Iwo Jima, Okinawa, and others.

After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
According to American Memory, from the Library of Congress, this site "presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States. "

World War Poster Collection
Includes posters from WWI and II, both on the home front and abroad for the University of North Texas Digital Library.

World War II Posters
Available from the Prints & Photographs Online Catalog of the Library of Congress. Search for "World War II posters."

Universal Newsreels
"In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting".

Japanese Internment Links

World War 2 Poster

Fortune Magazine Anti-Japanese Propoganda 1942

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project,
Documentation from the Internment camps, including firsthand accounts and historic images.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive
A section of Calisphere, the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources.

Japanese-American Internment & San Francisco
Includes newspaper articles about the relocation of Japanese Americans, photographs, accounts and descriptions from the area.

Japanese American Veterans Association Digitization Project
Website for the Japanese American Veterans Association

Soka University of America WW2 Internment Subject Guide
Subject Guide of Soka University Ikeda Library on Japanese-American Internment during World War II 

World War 2 Poster

World War 2 Poster

Buy Victory Bonds

Buy Victory Bonds

World War 2 Poster

World War 2 Poster

The text reads: "Death to the German-Fascist Invaders!"

Allied Powers United For Victory

World War 2 Poster

The United Nations Fights for Freedom (Link)