Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

History: The Holocaust: Media concerning the Holocaust

Guide for Library Research on The Holocaust

The Entrance to Auschwitz

The Entrance to Auschwitz

Text on the sign says "Work Will Make You Free"
1.5 million people were killed in Auscwitz. (Link)

Nuremberg Laws

Nuremberg Laws

Chart specifying who is considered to be Fully-Jewish, Half-Jewish, and Non-Jewish according to the Nuremberg Racial Laws. The categories translate from right to left as "Jew", "Half-Breed", and "Blood German".

 

After the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising

After the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising

This photo is considered to be the most famous one taken in the aftermath of the end of the Warsaw Ghetto Revolt.

It was included in the Stroop Report, a 75 page official report on the suppression of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, prepared for Hitler by Jurgen Stroop, the commander of German forces tasked with liquidating the Ghetto. The original title of the report was "The Jewish Quarter of Warsaw is No More!" The boy in the photo remains unidentified. Jurgen Stroop was sentenced to death for killing American POWs and then extradited to Poland where he was also sentenced to death for killing Polish civilians. He was executed in 1952.

The Bielski Partisans

The Bielski Partisans

The Bielski Family
Jewish Resistance fighters Operating in Belorussia

The Bielski Partisans, formed by three brothers Tuvia (1906–1987), Asael (1908–1945), and Zus (1910–1995), operated in what is today Belarus between 1942 and 1944. The group became famous after the war due to their emphasis on providing a safe haven for Jews fleeing the Germans, especially women and children. They managed to protect and save more than 1,200 Jews. (Link)

Child Survivors of the Holocaust

Child Survivors of the Holocaust

Jewish children at Auschwitz in concentration camp uniforms after liberation by the Soviet Army. The picture is a still from a postwar Soviet Film preserved by the Polish Central State Archive of Film.

Child Survivors of the Holocaust

Jewish children at Auschwitz after liberation roll up their sleeves to show the serial number tattooed onto them by the Germans. (Link Here and Here)

Holocaust Survivors Immigrating to Israel

Holocaust Survivors Immigrating to Israel

Survivors of Buchenwald Concentration Camp
Immigrating to Israel

Lloyd Sealy Library Video Search

Search the John Jay College Library Video Collection:

Video and Documentaries Online

There are a variety of video and audio resources available online outside of the Lloyd Sealy Library Collection. These materials include documentaries, newsreels, and especially testimony of Holocaust survivors recorded on video. This is only a limited list; there is much more material available on the general world wide web.

  1. Yad Vashem Online Film Database
  2. Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
  3. The British Library Survivor Testimony on Audio
  4. Yad Vashem Remembrance Testimony Video Archive
  5. USHMM Holocaust Encylopedia (Can be searched for Video and Video Clips)

Photo Archives

There are a variety of photo archives available online outside of the Lloyd Sealy Library Collection. This is only a limited list; there is much more material available on the general world wide web.

  1. USHMM Photo Archives
  2. YIVO Photograph Archive
  3. Yad Vashem Photo Archive
  4. Roman Vishniac Archive at ICP

German Nazi Boycott of Jewish Business

German Nazi Boycott of Jewish Business

Text on the signs say:
"Germans! Defend Yourselves! Don't Buy from Jews!"

Einsatzgruppen

Last Jew of Vinnitsa

A picture from an Einsatzgruppen soldier’s personal album, with the caption written on the back that said "Last Jew of Vinnitsa". The entire Jewish population of Vinnitsa Ukraine, numbering 28,000 was massacred by the Germans in 1941.

Baking of Matzahs in Hiding

Baking of Matzahs in Hiding

Baking of Matzahs While in Hiding
Lodz, Poland 1943
Yad Vashem Archives 37CO7

(Matzah is unleavened bread traditionally eaten by Jews during the holiday of Passover. The Nazis forbad the baking of Matzah on penalty of death.)

General Eisenhower at Liberated Ohrdruf Concentration Camp

General Eisenhower at Liberated Ohrdruf Concentration Camp

Generals Eisenhower, Bradley, Patton, and Eddy inspect a cremation pyre at the camp on April 12, 1945 at Ohrdruf Concentration Camp

General Eisenhower at Liberated Ohrdruf Concentration Camp

General Dwight D. Eisenhower and other American officers tour Ohrdruf Concentration Camp after its liberation by American Forces in April 1945. (U.S. Army Signal Corps/NARA)