Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

History: The Holocaust: Databases about the Holocaust

Guide for Library Research on The Holocaust

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Journals

Journals

Below are a list of journals where you can find serious and scholarly materials relating to the Holocaust as well as the general subject of genocide, mass murder, and the abuse of power.

  • AJS review
  • American Jewish History
  • Dead Sea Discoveries
  • European Judaism
  • Holocaust and Genocide Studies
  • Idea: A Journal of Social Issues
  • Jewish Quarterly Review
  • Jewish Social Studies
  • Journal of Jewish Education
  • Journal of Jewish Thought & Philosophy
  • Journal of Modern Jewish Studies
  • Modern Judaism
  • Prooftexts
  • Shofar
  • Tikkun
  • War Crimes, Genocide & Crimes against Humanity 

Charles H. Kremer Papers

Available in the Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections:

The Charles H. Kremer Papers

These papers document the life-long work of Dr. Charles Kremer to bring Nazi war criminal Archbishop Valerian Trifa to justice. Kremer was also for many years president of the United Roumanian Jews of America, later called the Rumanian Jewish Federation of America, Inc, the Committee to Bring Nazi Criminals to Justice in U.S.A, Inc.

Click Here for the Finding Aid to the Collection.

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Databases

Databases

The databases below are recommended for students who are looking for scholarly materials concerning the Holocaust. Each of the databases listed below deals with the humanities and includes materials dealing with history and historical questions.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database that offers an enormous collection of valuable full-text journals. It is the leading source of peer-reviewed material including material topics such as the social science, humanities, and education among many other areas of study.

Biography Reference Center
Literature, science, business, politics - virtually every discipline is tied to people. This database provides full-text coverage of more than 450,000 biographies from screened, reliable journals, periodicals, newspapers, and web sites.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
This database is a collection of over reference books and encylopedias that are searchable together or title by title.  It covers a variety of subjects largely from the social sciences and humanities such as history, philosophy, literature, education, and biography.

Historical Abstracts
Excluding the United States and Canada (that material is available in America: History and Life database), this resource covers the history of the world from the 15 century forward. It includes material from academic journals, books, and monographs.

JSTOR
JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. It covers most fields of study including education, history, literature, philosophy, political science, and sociology.

Project Muse
This resource is focused on humanities and social sciences particularly including materials covering literature, history, cultural studies, and political science. It currently includes 325,000 articles from 241 publishers.

Online Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Published originally in 1971, Encyclopedia Judaica has been the leading source for information on the Jewish people, the Jewish faith, and the state of Israel.  The Second Edition continues the tradition of the Encyclopedia as the best source of coverage of how the Jewish people have influenced history and shaped the modern world.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia
Edited by Walter Laqueur
The Holocaust Encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals.

Atrocities, massacres, and war crimes: an encyclopedia
Edited by Alexander Mikaberidze
The 400-plus entries in Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia provide accessible and concise information on the difficult subject of abject human violence committed on all continents. The entries in this two-volume work describe atrocities, massacres, and war crimes committed in the 20th century, documenting how human beings have repeatedly proven their capability to commit horrific acts of inhumanity even in relatively recent times and within the modern era.

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

On Shelf Encyclopedias

On Shelf Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
Reference HV6322.7 .E532 2005 v1-3

"This outstanding comprehensive sourcebook of the worst in human behavior throughout history also includes instances of some of the best responses. It is aimed at the adult general reader but will be valuable for both specialists and older students studying the destruction of a people. The topics comprise the diverse aspects of crimes against humanity--acts and consequences, cultural memory and representation, international institutions and laws."  

Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Works
Reference PN56.H55 H66 2003 v1-2

This encyclopedia features 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, and drama, providing a compelling look at novelists, poets, memoirists, dramatists, and others writers who experienced the Holocaust or otherwise integrated the subject into their works.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust Edited by Israel Gutman
Reference D804.3.E53 1990 v1-4

Published by Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Remembrance Authority in Israel, the Encyclopedia contains hundreds of entries and was a winner of the 1990 American Library Association’s Dartmouth Medal.

Encyclopedia of genocide Edited by Israel W. Charny
Reference HV 6322.7 .E53 1999 v1-2

Written by almost 100 experts from many countries, the Encyclopedia of Genocide charts the full extent of this horrific subject  including the Nazi Holocaust as well as other genocides such as in Armenia, Cambodia, Rwanda, and the former Yugoslavia.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia Edited by Walter Laqueur
Reference D804.25 .H66 2001

The Holocaust Encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals.