Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Fire Science: Books Databases and Media

Guide for Library Research on Fire Science

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Video LibGuide

Video LibGuide

If you have any trouble or are unsure about any of the media materials we have here at the Library or how to access them then consider visiting our video libguide to find out absolutely everything about the video collection.

Click HERE

General Databases

General Databases

While searching in a subject specific database can usually find you the information you are looking for, sometimes it is worthwhile to take a look in a less specific databases with a broader amount of material and topics available. On this page you will find links to databases such as JSTOR and Gale Virtual Reference Library. In addition to those consider taking a look at some of the databases below as well:

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Articles in journals and trade publications covering applied science, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology from 1983 to the present (includes a retrospective index from 1913-1983)

Gale Business Insights Essentials
Information on companies, markets, and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers, downloadable directory profiles, and market reports

JSTOR
A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.

PILOTS
Its goal is to include citation to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events

Find video & audio resources in OneSearch

The Library's collections include streaming video, streaming audio, DVDs, VHS, and CDs. Search our media collection here.

Advanced search

Find books with OneSearch

Search for EbscoHost Ebooks

To search through the EbscoHost Ebook Collection for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

EbscoHost Ebooks Search

Search for Ebrary Ebooks

To search through Ebrary for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

ebrary

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

To search through Criminal Justice Periodicals Index for articles and more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Fire Science Databases

Fire Science Databases

All Fire Science Related Databases from Lloyd Sealy Library can be found here.

 

American Chemical Society Journals
Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Fire Codes Online
Online version of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fire Codes. (Note: only one user at a time permitted. PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN DONE.)

FIREDOC
An index to over 70,000 technical documents, conference proceedings, and journal articles on all aspects of fire science, safety and engineering provided by the Building and Fire Research Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Health and Safety Science Abstracts
In association with the Univ. of Southern California Inst. of Safety and Systems Mgmt., provides access to articles in public health, occupational safety, emergency management, toxicology, fire safety, and security. Coverage from 1981 to the present.

Learning Resource Center of the National Fire Academy
The library catalog of the National Fire Academy. An index of journal articles, books, and reports in fire science and emergency management. Items not owned by John Jay may be available via Interlibrary Loan.

NFPA Codes Online
Online version of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fire Codes. (Note: only one user at a time permitted. PLEASE LOG OFF WHEN DONE.)

Essentials of Fire Fighting

Essentials of Fire Fighting

Essentials of Fire Fighting
by Richard Hall
Stacks - TH 9151 .E88 1998

Firefighting Strategies and Tactics

Firefighting Strategies and Tactics

Firefighting Strategies and Tactics
by James Angle
Stacks - TH9145 .F55 2008

Managing Major Fires

Managing Major Fires

Managing Major Fires
by John Coleman
Stacks - TH 9310.8 .C65 2001

Fire Science Periodicals

Fire Science Periodicals

There are a variety of Fire Science oriented journals available in the library collection either in Print or as an Online Journal. All of these titles can be found by searching in CUNY+:

Fire Chief
Fire Engineering
Fire Management Today
Firehouse Magazine
Fire Safety Engineering
Fire and Rescue
Fire Ecology
Fire in the United States
Fire Safety Journal