This is the "Streaming Video Collections" page of the "Video Collection Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Video Collection Information  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/video Print Guide RSS Updates

Streaming Video Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video Search Box

Search the John Jay College Library video collection:

 

Access Streaming Video on your Mobile Devices

You can go directly to any of these databases with your mobile device and stream it directly to your device. 

American History in Video

Counseling & Therapy in Video

Ethnographic Video Online

Or, if accessing these databases from a desktop or laptop computer, you will be directed on how to then access a film on your mobile device.  There are several options to send the video to your device. If you would like to choose the option to scan the video's QR code (what's a QR code?) but don't have a QR reader on your device, you can download a QR code reader here.

 

Let Us Know

If you know of any good streaming video sites that contain educational films, please let us know about them by submitting a comment below!

 

Streaming Video Databases

Search these databases to access thousands of full length documentaries and dramatizations. These can be accessed by any number of John Jay patrons anywhere on or off campus!  

American History in Video More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, like PBS, the BBC, and The History Channel. It also contains archival and public affairs footage.

Counseling & Therapy in Video 375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures.

Criminal Justice & Public Safety in Video Over 400 documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in the criminal justice system.

Ethnographic Video Online 750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides.

Films on Demand. Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world’s best producers including, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, the BBC and more.

 

Freely Available Streaming Video

Academic Conferences and Lectures:

Academic Earth features over 5,000 lectures from top rate Universities across the country on many topics and disciplines. Entire courses are offered as are playlists of videos on various topics.

iBioSeminars A project of the American Society for Cell Biology, this site features lecture-style videos reported by scientists and edited by science writers, which provide contemporary biological information and cutting edge developments.

FORA.TV Conference Channel has thousands of conference proceedings and lectures from academia and the media, including many CUNY Graduate Center lectures. Warning: of the over 10,000 films available here, a small percentage are pay per view.  

Many lectures and special events that have taken place at John Jay College can be downloaded from iTunesU--you must download iTunes to your computer (many of these are also available on DVD and are part of the Library's media collection).

MicrobeWorld created in response to public concerns about bioterrorism and other risks by the American Society for Microbiology, this site features podcasts and videos that teach microbiology and the impact of microorganisms on human culture.

Documentary, historic and art film archives:

Europa Film Treasures has over 100 historic films from 15 European countries--featuring works from institutions like the British Film Institute, La Cinematheque Francaise, and Filmarchiv Austria.

Internet Archive  moving image collection contains thousands of digital movies, uploaded by Archive users, which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts.

National Film Board of Canada has a large collection of full length documentary, educational and independent films.

National Geographic TV has thousands of short length and some full length videos from the National Geographic channel.

PBS offers episodes from several of its popular series like NOVA, American Experience, and Masterpiece (selected episodes change from time to time so you can't assume they'll be available throughout a given semester).

Snag Films has the largest collection of independent movies online as well as documentaries, features, and art house films.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Nancy Egan
Contact Info
212-237-8269
899 10th Ave.
New York, NY 10019
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Maria Kiriakova
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip