Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Fire Science: Organizations and Links

Guide for Library Research on Fire Science

Organizations and Agencies

Organizations and Agencies

Federal Emergency Management Agency
The Federal Emergency Management Agency coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

International Association of Arson Investigators
IAAI is an association of more than 5,000 fire investigation professionals from across the world, united by a strong commitment to suppress the crime of arson through professional fire investigation.

International Association of Fire Fighters
The International Association of Fire Fighters, headquartered in Washington, DC, represents more than 298,000 full-time professional fire fighters and paramedics who protect 85 percent of the nation’s population. More than 3,100 affiliates and their members protect communities in every state in the United States and in Canada. The IAFF is one of the most active lobbying organizations in Washington; its Political Action Committee, FIREPAC, is among the top 25 federal PACs among the more than 4,000 in the country.

The International Association for Fire Safety Science
IADSS was founded with the primary objective of encouraging research into the science of preventing and mitigating the adverse effects of fires and of providing a forum for presenting the result of such research.

International Association of Women in Fire & Emergency Services
An interactive non-profit network that provides education, support and advocacy for fire service women.

The National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors (NAFED)
NAFED site includes technical papers as well as extensive lists of Web sites on fire organizations, governmental agencies, manufacturers, fire schools, universities, laboratories and research centers.

National Fire Protection Association
(Also from NFPA are Fire Resource Links.) The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA, established in 1896, is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education. The world's leading advocate of fire prevention and an authoritative source on public safety, NFPA develops, publishes, and disseminates more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks. NFPA membership totals more than 70,000 individuals around the world.

National Institute of Standards and Technology: Building and Fire Research Portal
The mission of the building and fire research programs at NIST is to anticipate and meet the measurement science, standards, and technology needs of the U.S. building and fire safety industries in areas of critical national need.

National Interagency Fire Center
The National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC), located in Boise, Idaho, is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC. Decisions are made using the interagency cooperation concept because NIFC has no single director or manager.

New York State Association of Fire Chiefs
The New York State Association of Fire Chiefs is a not for profit, service oriented organization founded in 1904 by 60 chiefs from around the state who were interested in sharing mutual concerns and solutions for the benefit of the fire service. Today, it is one of the largest fire chiefs associations in the world and its focus now encompasses the needs and concerns of all of the emergency services.

Official NYFD Web site
Part of NYC's web site, FDNY page includes photo archives, full text copies of fire safety brochures, a history of EMS & vintage photographs of Manhattan fire companies

Society of Fire Protection Engineers
The Society of Fire Protection Engineers was established in 1950 and incorporated as an independent organization in 1971. It is the professional society representing those practicing the field of fire protection engineering. The Society has over 5000 members globally and over 75 regional chapters.

U.S. Fire Administration
As an entity of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.

US Forest Service and Fire Management Today
Established in 1905, the Forest Service is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The Forest Service manages public lands in national forests and grasslands. Fire Management Today is their Fire and Aviation Management site.

Fire Science Exhibit

Fire Science Exhibit

On display in the Niederhoffer Lounge in the Library throughout 2013 was a small but focused exhibit on fire science. The display highlights key fire science texts available from the library as well as information on where to find more material on fire science and other related topics. Click here and here to take a look at some photos!

Magazine Links

Magazine Links

FireEngineering.com
The online page for Fire Engineering magazine; also a portal page for information of relevance to fire engineers.

Firehouse
Website for Firehouse magazine; also a portal page for information of relevance to the fire engineers.

General Links

General Links

Fire and Explosion Safety Links
Links compiled by Fire Science and Technology, Inc.

Fire on the Web
A collection of resources from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Building and Fire Research Laboratory's Fire Research Division.

101 Fantastic Fire Safety Websites
Links to fire resources on the Web, compiled by OnlineFireScienceDegree.org

InterFIRE Online
A resource for fire services, fire insurers, law enforcement dealing who deal with arson and fire investigation as well as safety and training.

Joint Fire Science Program
A one-stop source for fire science information resources and funding announcements for scientists, fire practitioners and decision makers; coordinates national research initiatives in Fire Science as well as offering knowledge management systems and research briefs.

NIST and the World Trade Center
A three-part investigation into the causes of the WTC collapse National Institute of Standards and Technology done to make recommendations for improved building codes, standards, and practices.

Unofficial Page of the FDNY
News, announcements and a page for each company of the FDNY with varying amounts of material included. Site maintained by retired firefighter Don Van Holt, includes full text issues of their e-magazine, Fire Command & Control.

Firefighters: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. It is published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States. The link above will take you to the handbook page for firefighters.

Fire Department of New York: NYC Department of Records
This series of photographs had been discovered in the Fire Department's Forensic Unit office in the mid-1980s. It consists of 763 black and white photos from 1900-1960, the bulk in the form of negatives on glass and film supports as well as prints and glass lantern slides. Most of the images are of Fire Department activities and personnel.