LibGuides: Fire Science: Law, Codes, Statistics and Citation

New York City: Research and History Subject Guide

The Lloyd Sealy Library has a subject guide on the Neighborhoods of New York City. Click HERE to take a look!

More Codes and Standards

Arson Investigation by Thomas J. Bouquard
Call Number: Stacks ; HV8079 .A7 B68 2004
ISBN: 9780398074722
Publication Date: 2004
This unique book presents a step-by-step approach to arson investigation. .
Forensic Science Evidence by Donald E. Shelton
ISBN: 9781593325176
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Shelton describes the startling questions that have arisen about the reliability of many forms of scientific evidence which were traditionally regarded as reliable and have been routinely admitted to prove guilt.
Wildfire Arson Prevention Guide by Richard Woods
ISBN: 9781032405964
Publication Date: 2023
This Wildlife Arson Prevention Guide provides law enforcement, land management and fire agency investigators with frameworks, strategies and tactics-that can be adopted to address deliberate wildfire ignitions in their jurisdiction.
Firesetting and Mental Health by Geoffrey L. Dickens (Editor); Philip A. Sugarman (Editor); Teresa A. Gannon (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks ; RC569.5 .P9 F57 2012
ISBN: 9781908020376
Publication Date: 2012
Arson and other types of deliberate firesetting have major human and financial costs across the globe. People with mental disorder are disproportionately involved and mental health practitioners are frequently required to assess, treat and manage this troubling group. Half of all deliberate fire-related damage is caused by adults and this is the first book to take a comprehensive look at the issue from a mental health perspective.
Fire Officer's Handbook of Tactics by John Norman
Call Number: Reserve Room - 3 hour loan ; TH9145 .N59 2012
ISBN: 9781593702793
Publication Date: 2012-08-04
John Norman has updated his best-selling book, a guide for the firefighter and fire officer who, having learned the basic mechanics of the trade, are looking for specific methods for handling specific situations.
Dust Explosion and Fire Prevention Handbook by Nicholas P. Cheremisinoff
ISBN: 1118773543
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
This handy volume is a ready "go to" reference for the chemical engineer, plant manager, process engineer, or chemist working in industrial settings where dust explosions could be a concern, such as the process industries, coal industry, metal industry, and others.
Insurance Fraud Casebook by Laura Hymes (Editor); Joseph T. Wells (Editor)
ISBN: 1118700937
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Real case studies on insurance fraud written by real fraud examiners
Children and Teenagers Who Set Fires by Joanna Foster
ISBN: 1784509299
Publication Date: 2019-10-21
This book helps adults to understand firesetting behaviour in children and teens and provides strategies to work with them to address the behaviour.

Fire Science General Information

If you are interested in Fire Science or anything related to fires, consider taking a look at these books:

Fire Protection Handbook by National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) (Editor)
Call Number: Reserve Room - 3 hour loan ; TH9145 .F57 2023
ISBN: 9781455929139
Publication Date: 2023-03-03
Home Fires Burn : A page-turning crime thriller. by Lisa Hartley
ISBN: 1800321333
Publication Date: 2020
Extreme Fires and Floods by John Farndon
ISBN: 1512474525
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Follow the scorched trail of the worst wildfires ever, learn what causes flash floods, and discover the technology that helps predict these devastating disasters.
Between Two Fires by Stephen J. Pyne
ISBN: 0816532141
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
From a fire policy of prevention at all costs to today's restored burning, Between Two Fires is America's history channeled through the story of wildland fire management.

Fire Science Law

Fire Service Law by Lawrence T. Bennett
Call Number: Stacks ; KF3976 .Z9 B56 2008
ISBN: 9780131552883
Publication Date: 2008
This first-of-its kind text is written for the growing fire administration/officer markets.
Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services by Robert Klinoff
ISBN: 9781284180152
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
The sixth edition of Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services meets and exceeds the National Fire Academy's Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) course objectives and outcomes for the Associate's (Core) course called Principles of Emergency Services (C0273).
Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management by Nicolas A. Valcik; Paul E. Tracy
ISBN: 1439883173
Publication Date: 2013-01-04
Designed to enable public officials to conduct this kind of evaluation, Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management details a selection of emergencies.
Foundations of Homeland Security and Emergency Management by Martin J. Alperen
ISBN: 9781394191598
Publication Date: 2023-11-30
Foundations of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Complete guide to understanding homeland security law.

Statistical Sources Online

Albert Einstein and Scientific Theory of Light

Here are some available Fire Science and Emergency Management statistical resources online:

Fire Deaths in the United States: Review of Data Sources
Government document available online
NFIRS National Fire Incident Reporting System
This site provides an overview of the standard national reporting system used by U.S. fire departments to report fires and other incidents to which they respond and to maintain records of these incidents in a uniform manner.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA: Reports and Statitics
Offers a search for a variety of statistical reports.
U.S. Fire Administration: Fire Statistics
Offers statistics on fires that occur in the United States; analytical and topical reports that describe the national fire problem; and statistics related to firefighters and fire departments.
World Fire Statistics Center (WFSC)
A group that focuses on the collection, analysis and dissemination of internationally comparable fire cost statistics.

NFPA Code Citation

Here is an example of an APA citation of a NFPA code from the NFPA National Fire Codes Online database:

Reference list entry:

NFPA 1852: Standard on Selection, Care, and Maintenance of Open-Circuit Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus (SCBA), 2013 Edition. In NFPA National Fire Codes Online. Retrieved from http://codesonline.nfpa.org

Parts of citation:

NFPA code number: Title of the code, year of the edition. In NFPA National Fire Codes Online. Retrieved from http://codesonline.nfpa.org

In-Text citation within a sentence:

NFPA 1852 (2013)

In-Text citation at the end of a sentence:

(NFPA 1852, 2013)

Codes and Standards

National Fire Codes Online
Online version of the national fire codes from NFPA.org

Fire Prevention Inspection and Code Enforcement 4th Edition by David Diamantes
Call Number: Reserve Room - 3 hour loan ; TH9176 .D53 2015
ISBN: 9781508481171
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
The fourth edition of Fire Prevention: Inspection and Code Enforcement is updated to reflect the 2012 ICC and Uniform Fire Codes. This book features step-by-step explanations and practical examples of the use of model building and fire codes, including detailed information on the legal, economic, and political aspects of the fire inspection process.
Fire Prevention Inspection and Code Enforcement 4th Edition by David Diamantes
Call Number: Reserve Room - 3 hour loan ; TH9176 .D53 2015
ISBN: 9781508481171
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
The fourth edition of Fire Prevention: Inspection and Code Enforcement is updated to reflect the 2012 ICC and Uniform Fire Codes.
Building Codes Illustrated by Francis D. K. Ching; Steven R. Winkel
ISBN: 1119150957
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Dive into the history and application of the IBC Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to the 2015 International Building Code, Fifth Edition is a bestselling complement to the International Building Code, or IBC.

Search Terms

When searching for books, media or articles in Onesearch or in a database, don't just limit your search to simple terms such as "Fire" or "Fire Science". Consider the following keywords to search for related materials:

Accidents
Chemical spills
Disasters
Dwellings - fire prevention
Emergency
Emergency rescue techniques
Emergency services
Fire
Fire departments
Fire equipment
Fire extinction
Fire fighters
Fire fighting technology
Fire Investigation
Fire prevention
Fire risk assessment
Fire safety
First aid
First responders
Forest Fires
Hazardous substances
Lifesaving
Occupational and industrial hazards
Public safety programs
Rescue
Rescue operations
Rescue work
Search and rescue
Skyscraper fires
Traffic accidents
Transportation hazards
Wildfires