Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database contains authoritative fulltext information by criminal and forensic experts and practitioners. Select "Criminal Justice and Law" as a Subject Area and then select from the right-hand side (3rd page) the text entitled: "Terrorist Financing, Money Laundering, and Tax Evasion, Examining the Performance of Financial Intelligence Units". The Subject Area "Computer Crime Investigation" also has a lot of information.
Searching for Articles about a Topic
Search the databases that contain academic or scholarly articles for in-depth analysis of particular topics.
For example, to search for articles on recidivism and white collar crime select the databases you believe would be appropriate for the subject.
Type your term(s) in the individual boxes and choose "title" or "subject" from the drop-down menu. This process allows for precise results - your search results should retrieve articles ABOUT recidivism in white collar crime rather than mentions of the term(s) in the articles. Many of these databases allow you to restrict your results to academic or scholarly articles only.
Searching for articles about a specific person/crime
Academic Search Complete
Look for articles from newspapers,magazines and scholarly journals to find details of a particular crime, the investigation of that crime and its disposition as it was reported at the time. Be sure to include as much specific information as you know, for example, personal names, company names. location (city or state), the particular kind of crime (insider trading, securities fraud, check kiting, pyramid scheme, etc.). If searching for a particular company, do not include the company's extension (corp., inc., etc.). Be sure to indicate a date range that covers the time period in question. If you retrieve too many articles, try narrowing down the search by looking for your terms in the headline (title).
Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in trade and industry specific journals (e.g., banking, insurance, etc.) as well as scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines. Searching is similar to Academic Search Complete and while there is some content overlap, there are also many unique sources in this database.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext
Search for specific people, corporations or types of crime. While there will be some overlap in content with other EBSCO databases, there is also unique content from the criminal justice literature.
New York Times Historical File
Search this database for articles in the New York Times going back to 1851.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Search for articles from newspapers (local, national and international), magazines, broadcast transcripts and wire services. Also look for articles from law journals in this database. It is recommended that you use the ADVANCED search feature in order to search more precisely.
The reference librarians are glad to assist you with your search. Simply ask a librarian if you need help.