Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Terrorism research resources: Articles

Search multiple databases

Search several different library databases at the same time using EBSCOHost's Discovery Service for the John Jay College Library.

Databases for the Study of Terrorism

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Provides scholarly articles and annotations of books and book chapters in criminal justice. Coverage from 1968 to the present.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

Military and Government Collection (EBSCOHost) (CUNY USE ONLY) Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

SocINDEX with Full Text (CUNY USE ONLY) Contains "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some "priority" coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.

Sociological Abstracts (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Selected Terrorism Journals and Other Periodicals

Coalition bulletin. Available electronically.

Accessible through the United States Central Command website, the Coalition bulletin includes articles written by volunteers from countries representing the Public Awareness Working Group and by writers from Coalition countries. Topics include stories of Coalition activities against the global war on terrorism along with the actions of the International Security Assistance Force.

A quarterly newsletter of the International Association for Counterterrorism and Security Professionals (IACSP), an association that focuses on all dimensions of counterterrorism. 

 

Counterterrorism & homeland security reports. Periodicals - HV6431 .C69. Also available electronically.

 

Country reports on terrorism. Available electronically.

Formerly entitled Patterns of Global Terrorism, this annual report is prepared by the Secretary of State for Congress. It summarizes terrorist activities and threats in various countries as well as counter-terrorism efforts.

 

Intersec: the journal of international security. Periodicals - HV6252 .I67. 

A monthly publication covering global threats, response strategies, technology, incident briefs and more.

 

Journal of counterterrorism and security international. Periodicals - HV6431 .J68.

A key publication of the International Association for Counterterrorism and Security Professionals (IACSP), this journal reports on terrorism and counterterrorism activities around the world.

 

Terrorism and political violence. Periodicals - HV6431 .T4595. Also available electronically.  

An interdisciplinary journal covering topics such as the meaning of terrorist activity, violence by groups and states and protest movements.