Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Terrorism research resources: Counter-terrorism and State Terrorism

Counterterrorism

Abrams, N. (2003). Anti-terrorism and criminal enforcement. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West.

KF9430 .A93 2008 (may be on reserve)

Cites and explains statutes and cases, and discusses criminal or law enforcement approaches to terrorism in contrast with a war, military, and intelligence approach.

Chandler, M. & Gunaratna, R. (2007). Countering terrorism: Can we meet the threat of global violence? London, UK: Reaktion.

Stacks - HV6431 .C447 2007

The authors cover Iraq, Iran and Afghanistan and discuss the problems that have set back an international effort to respond to terrorism. They also outline what the international community ought to do to counter terrorism.

De Koster, P. (2005). Terrorism: Special investigation techniques. Strasbourg, Belgium: Council of Europe Pub.

Reference HV8079 .T47 T47 2005 

De Koster surveyed thirty-five Council of Europe member states and two observer states on their special investigation practices. He includes a copy of his questionnaire and notes similar investigation techniques between states.

Mariani, C. (2004). Terrorism prevention and response: The definitive law enforcement guide to prepare for terrorist activity. Flushing, NY: Looseleaf Law Publications.

Stacks and Reference - HV8141 .M26 2004

Written for law enforcement and public safety personnel for training purposes, this title covers attack scenarios, response, rescue and preparation strategies and more.

Musch, D.J. (comp.) (2004). International terrorism agreements: Documents and commentary. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications.

Reference Law K5256 .A35 I583 2004

This title includes two draft UN conventions, twelve international and seven regional agreements, and provides commentary and background information for each document. It also includes a chronology of key terrorist incidents from 1961 to 2003.

Nance, M.W. (2008). Terrorist recognition handbook: A practitioner’s manual for predicting and identifying terrorist activities. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.

E-book

This electronic book covers how to identify terrorists and terrorist groups and cells, along with terrorist activities. Intended as a training manual, this title also includes chapters on how to predict an attack and contemporary forms of terrorism including al-Qaeda and the insurgency in Iraq. It furthermore lists international terrorist groups and different types of explosives.

Zimmermann, D. & Wenger, A. (Eds.). (2007). How states fight terrorism: Policy dynamics in the West. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers.

Stacks - HV6431 .H693 2007

The counterterrorism policies of six Western countries – Britain, Germany, Norway, Canada, the U.S. and Israel – are examined in depth by this title.  The book closes with a chapter on Al-Qaida and a chapter on counterterrorism policy in the West from the 1960s to the post-9/11 context.

State Terrorism

 

Menjivar, C. & Rodriguez, N. (Eds.). (2005). When states kill: Latin America, the U.S., and technologies of terror. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press. 

Stacks - HV6433 .L3 W46 2005 and e-book

The book argues that state terrorism in Latin America is not rooted in the history of colonialism, but is instead the product of U.S. interests and interventions in specific Latin American countries. Countries discussed include Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru and Uruguay.

Sluka, J.A. (2000). Death squad: The anthropology of state terror. Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press.

Stacks - HV 6431 .D433 2000 

The book presents ethnographic case studies that look at the anthropology of state terror and how it affects local communities, terror victims, and survivors. The first chapter explains the concept of state terror and torture, as well as discusses anthropological approaches to studying state terror.

Wright, T.C. (2007). State terrorism in Latin America: Chile, Argentina, and international human rights. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.

Stacks - HV6322.3 .C5 W75 2007 

The book centers on the human rights crisis in Chile and Argentina during the 1970s and 1980s. While it focuses on the relationship between state terrorism and international human rights interventions in both countries, it also discusses the lasting legacy and impact of these crises in Latin America.