Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Terrorism research resources: Aftermath of 9/11

9/11 Attacks

Crotty, W. (Ed.). (2004). The politics of terror: The U.S. response to 9/11. Boston, MA: Northeastern University Press.

Stacks - E902 .P65 2004

A collection of essays grappling with the question of balancing national security interests with democratic rights and freedoms.

Holbein, J.R. (Ed.). (2005). The 9/11 Commission: Proceedings and analysis. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications.

Stacks - HV6432.7 .N56 2005 and online

A four-volume set with transcripts of 12 public hearings by the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States including summaries of the hearings and profiles of hearing panelists.

The 9/11 Commission report: Final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States. (2003). Washington, D.C.: National Commission on Terrorist Attacks upon the United States.

Stacks, Reference and Special Collections - HV6432.7 .N39 2004b and online

This final report, written by the ten appointed commissioners of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks, provides background information on 9/11 along with details of the response to the attacks. It also includes a history of Al Qaeda and provides recommendations for preparing for future attacks.

Portraits 9/11/01: The collected “Portraits of Grief” from The New York Times. (2002). New York, NY: Times Books, Henry Holt and Company.

Reference - HV6432 .P67 2002

Portraits and profiles of those killed in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon fill the hundreds of pages in this title. This collection brings together portraits printed in the New York Times from September 15, 2001 to February 5, 2002.

War on Terror

Miller, M.J. & Stefanova, B. (Eds.). (2007). The war on terror in comparative perspective: U.S. security and foreign policy after 9/11. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Stacks - JZ1480 .W37 2007

This collection of essays discusses the impact of the War on Terror on different regions of the world and examines America’s relations with other states. U.S. foreign policy is also discussed, covering the post 9/11 context, globalization and radical Islam.

Sands, P. (2008). Torture team: Rumsfeld's memo and the betrayal of American values. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Stacks - K5304 .S26 2008

Sands links the abuses committed in Abu Ghraib, Afghanistan and Guantanamo to a memo signed by Donald Rumsfeld in 2002. The memo, Sands writes, authorized interrogation techniques that violated the Geneva Conventions. Investigating the inner workings of the Bush Administration, Sands interviews key figures, such as lawyers, who were involved in authorizing the use torture as part of the ar on Terror. The book includes a detailed chronology of events from November 2001 to February 2008 which lists media coverage of the abuses and the administrative actions taken to authorize torture.

Sheehan, I.S. (2007). When terrorism and counterterrorism clash: The War on Terror and the transformation of terrorist activity. Youngstown, NY: Cambria Press.

Stacks - HV6431 .S4686 2007

Sheehan provides background information on concepts and theories of terrorism and counterterrorism, and investigates whether preemptive military approaches such as the War on Terror have increased global terrorism.

Silkenat, J.R. & Shulman, M.R. (Eds.). (2007). The imperial presidency and the consequences of 9/11: Lawyers react to the global War on Terrorism. Westport, CT: Praeger Security International.

Reference Law - KF5060 .I47 2007

Essays in this collection cover the legality of the invasion of Iraq and the state of individual rights after the 9/11 attacks. The book also contains letters from the Association of the Bar of the City of New York addressed to figures such as President Bush.

AbuGhraib and Guantanamo

Abu Ghraib

Benvenisti, M. (2004). Abu Ghraib: The politics of torture. Berkeley, CA: North Atlantic Books.  

Stacks - DS79.76 .A28 2004

Journalists, novelists, and academics contributed to this collection of essays which examine the torture of prisoners at Abu Ghraib. Some focus on the impact of the torture images, others discuss the Bush administration’s reaction to and role in the abuse.

Greenberg, K. J. & Dratel, J.L. (Eds.). (2005). The torture papers: The road to Abu Ghraib. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Stacks - DS79.76 .T676 2005

Greenberg and Dratel include the full text of legal memoranda used by the Bush administration to eliminate rules prohibiting torture, leading to the abuses at Abu Ghraib and Guantanamo. Revealing memos and documents written by figures such as former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld and former Secretary of State Colin Powell are included in this impressive collection of documents.

Meštrović, S.G. (2007). The trials of Abu Ghraib: An expert witness account of shame and honor. Boulder, CO: Paradigm Publishers.

Stacks - KF7641 .M47 2007

As a member of the defense team for soldiers involved in the abuse of prisoners at Abu Ghraib, Meštrović discusses the environment that led to the torture. He writes that low-ranking soldiers were held responsible for the abuse of prisoners while U.S. government policies, which created the horrific and chaotic environment at Abu Ghraib and led to prisoner abuse, were largely ignored during the trials of these solders.

Guantanamo

Kurnaz, M. (2008). Five years of my life: An innocent man in Guantanamo. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Stacks - KZ6496 .K8713 2008

Kurnaz was arrested in 2001 without reason during a trip to Pakistan. Sold by the Pakistani police to U.S. forces, Kurnaz was taken to Afghanistan for two months where he was mistreated and later transferred to Guantanamo. Kurnaz describes the abuse he endured at Guantanamo and writes about his final release in 2006 in which he was declared innocent.

Margulies, J. (2006). Guantánamo and the abuse of presidential power. New York, NY: Simon & Schuster.

Stacks - KF5060 .M373 2006 

Margulies examines Bush’s detention policy, created in 2002, which led to the indefinite detention and solitary confinement of prisoners at Guantanamo. Many detainees were eventually released or not charged for actions against the United States. Margulies, a lawyer who represented a Guantanamo detainee in the Supreme Court case Rasul v. Bush, provides accounts from Guantanamo personnel and the prisoners.

Rose, D. (2004). Guantánamo: The war on human rights. New York, NY: New Press.

Stacks - HV6432 .R67 2004

This brief book covers the establishment of the Guantanamo detention center and outlines the Bush administration’s illegal treatment of detainees. Stories of detainee abuse are also included.