Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

Provide:

  • Up-to-date information
  • Focus on a naarrow aspect of topic
  • Opinion/point of view
  • Original/timely source material

 

What is a Scholarly Journal?

   

    Scholarly, Peer Reviewed and/or Refereed Journals generally have:

    Original research

    Rigorous acceptance process by scholars in the field

    Author’s credentials presented

    Abstract (summary)

    Footnotes at the bottom of the page or endnotes at the end of the article

    Bibliography or a list of references at the end of the article

 

 

Keyword/Phrase Searching

Searching in a database is different than searching in Google.  Databases do NOT like sentences.  So when you are searching for articles in OneSearch or one of our databases, you want to write down as many keywords and phrases that best describe your topic. Once you have those keywords/phrases, try different combinations in order to construct a search strategy.  Use the word "and" when combining your keywords/phrases in one of our databases.  You do not need link your keywords/phrases with "and" in OneSearch.

Start with keyword(s) and/or phrase(s) that are as specific as possible

Chinese Americans and intermarriage and Brooklyn

If your search results are too limited, try to broaden your search:

Asian Americans and intermarriage and New York City  

Chinese Americans and New York City

Chinese Americans and intermarriage 

Chinese Americans and marriage

Finding Articles Two Ways

You can access online magazine/journal/newspaper articles remotely through OneSearch OR  by searching within one of our many databases.  

Refer to the Keyword Searching box in this guide to help you developing your search query.

 

1. Using OneSearch, type in your keyword(s) and/or phrase(s)* and limit your search to Articles, specifying Peer-reviewed, if you'd like, in order to find articles on your topic (see Articles selected below):

Although anyone off campus can search for materials in OneSearch, however, most electronic articles come from our library databases where material is restricted and you may be prompted to login. Please refer to the Off Campus Access tab in this guide for detailed login information.

 

2. To access one of one of our library databases, click Databases from our Library's homepage.  Click inside the pulldown menu marked Select from popular databases, or choose from our list of databases by subject or title:

Database search box

Databases may cover one subject, or many simultaneously.  They may be comprised of one type of information (only newspapers, videos, or statistics for example) or contain many kinds of sources (magazines, newspapers, journals, videos, etc.).  Choose databases by determining your subject and also what kind of information you are seeking.

Electronic materials from our library databases are generally restricted to the John Jay College community for remote access so you may be prompted to loginPlease refer to the Off Campus Access tab in this guide for detailed login information.

Some of our popular databases are:

Academic Search Complete (covers multiple subjects and includes newspapers, magazine, and scholarly journals)

APA PsycInfo (journals, books, dissertations, conferences and more in the field of psychology)

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (criminal justice academic journals and professional/trade publications)

Gale EBooks (specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories covering most subjects) 

NexisUni (legal, business and news sources worldwide)

SocINDEX with Full Text (social science journals)

 

Watch our videos on How to Find Articles Using OneSearch and How to Use Library Databases for more detailed information:

 

No Full Text Available? Try Interlibrary Loan

If there are no full text options available from the Lloyd Sealy Library, you may request articles from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service.  Register for an account using your John Jay email username and password (excluding the @jjay.cuny.edu).  If you do not know your John Jay email username and/or password, or if you're having difficulty logging in, go to reset.jjay.cuny.edu to either create or reset your password.  If you are experiencing difficulties, contact the DoIt Helpdesk at 212.237.8200 or helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu for further assitance.  Once you register, you can request articles.  You will receive an email, generally within one week, that the article is available in your ILL account and ready to download.