Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Emergency Management: Databases and Media

Guide for Library Research on Emergency Management

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Search JSTOR

General Databases

General Databases

While searching in a subject specific database can usually find you the information you are looking for, sometimes it is worthwhile to take a look in a less specific databases with a broader amount of material and topics available. On this page you will find links to databases such as JSTOR and Gale Virtual Reference Library. In addition to those consider taking a look at some of the databases below as well:

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Articles in journals and trade publications covering applied science, including engineering, math, physics, and computer technology from 1983 to the present (includes a retrospective index from 1913-1983)

Gale Business Insights Essentials
Information on companies, markets, and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers, downloadable directory profiles, and market reports

PILOTS
Its goal is to include citation to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health conditions resulting from traumatic events

Find video & audio resources in OneSearch

The Library's collections include streaming video, streaming audio, DVDs, VHS, and CDs. Search our media collection here.

Advanced search

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

To search through Criminal Justice Periodicals Index for articles and more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Emergency Management Databases

Emergency Management Databases

All Emergency Management Related Databases from Lloyd Sealy Library can be found here.

American Chemical Society Journals
Full-text of articles from a collection of the American Chemical Society journals.

Business Source Complete
Full text of peer-reviewed journals and magazines, country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Journal articles, encyclopedias and handbooks in the fields of communications and mass media.

Health and Safety Science Abstracts
In association with the Univ. of Southern California Inst. of Safety and Systems Mgmt., provides access to articles in public health, occupational safety, emergency management, toxicology, fire safety, and security. Coverage from 1981 to the present.

Risk Abstracts
Links to articles dealing with risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Sociological Abstracts
Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.

Video LibGuide

If you have any trouble or are unsure about any of the media materials we have here at the Library or how to access them then consider visiting our video libguide to find out absolutely everything about the video collection.

Click HERE

Movie: Emergency Management Planning

Movie: Emergency Management Planning

Emergency Management Planning
Streaming Video
Click Here

Movie: Facing Disaster

Movie: Facing Disaster

Facing Disaster
Streaming Video
Click Here

Movie: Health Safety and Security

Movie: Health Safety and Security

Health, Safety, and Security in the Hospitality Industry
Streaming Video
Click Here