Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Emergency Management: Statistics Organizations and Links

Guide for Library Research on Emergency Management

Statistical Sources Online

Statistical Sources Online

American FactFinder
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder comes from decennial censuses and periodic surveys.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Disaster Statistics Links
The Red Book: Handbook for Disaster Recovery Links Page

FedStats

Historical Census Browser
Census data ranging from 1790-1960 Users can limit searches by many variables including gender, age, education & literacy. Data is available by state and by country. Maintained by the University of Virginia.

Natural Catastrophe Service NATCAT Service

New York City Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene
The Bureau of Vital Statistics analyzes data that it collects from hundreds of thousands of birth and death certificates issued in New York City (NYC) each year by the Bureau of Vital Records. The Office of Vital Statistics (OVS) cleans, stores, codes, analyzes and reports this data for official use.

New York City Open Data
NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use. As part of an initiative to improve the accessibility, transparency, and accountability of City government, this catalog offers access to a repository of government-produced, machine-readable data sets.

New York State Data Center
"The state’s primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of New York, its businesses and people."

Statistical Abstract
Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data comes from the U.S. census and is made available by the federal government.

UNISDR: Disaster Statistics
A collection of statistical databases sponsored by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction.

WDI Online
A collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

Government Agencies

Government Agencies

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, but our goal is clear - keeping America safe.

Federal Emergency Management Agency
FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Centers for Disease and Control Prevention
This site offers plans for disasters and emergencies.

Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2012.

Homeland Security Digital Library 2002-
This is a database that compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and the national strategy related to that discipline.

National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration/Office of Response and Restoration
Access tools, information, and software for responders to oil spills, chemical accidents, hazardous materials releases, and ship groundings.

National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Emergency Preparedness
EPA's site covers prevention, risk management, preparedness, emergency response, and counter terrorism. Also includes information on regulations, software, publications, and links to related web sites. A key site for information dealing with hazardous materials, chemical accidents, and oil spills.

U.S Geological Survey
Has sections covering land-based natural hazards (earthquakes, floods, volcanoes).

Organizations

Organizations

Disaster Information Management Resource Center
From the National Institute of Health, this website provides disaster health information. Be sure to check out Disaster Lit, a Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health.

International Association of Emergency Managers
The International Association of Emergency Managers promotes the principles of emergency management and the professional development of emergency managers.

Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
"The Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction (ICLR) is a world-class centre for multi-disciplinary disaster prevention research and communications. The ICLR was established by Canada’s property and casualty (p&c) insurance industry as an independent, not-for-profit research institute affiliated with the University of Western Ontario."

National Emergency Management Association
The National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) is a professional organization for emergency management directors, and seeks to enhance public safety by improving emergency preparedness, response, and recovery.

Natural Hazards Center
A service of the University of Colorado at Boulder, the Natural Hazards Center provides information about hazard mitigation and disaster preparedness, response, and recovery.

University of Delaware/Disaster Research Center (DRC)
DRC has studied a broad range of disaster types, including hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, tornadoes, hazardous chemical incidents, plane crashes, civil disturbances, and riots. This site includes descriptions of current projects, as well as extensive bibliographies of DRC publications, including books, articles, preliminary papers, etc. Only some of the publications are available full-text online; others can be purchased through the Center. Click on E.L. Quarantelli Resource Collection.

9/11 Digital Archive

9/11 Digital Archive
 
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images. In September 2003, the Library of Congress accepted the Archive into its collections, an event that both ensured the Archive's long-term preservation and marked the library's first major digital acquisition. Click the image to above to go to the site.

Emergency Management Links

Emergency Management Links

Big Medicine
Website providing information on medicine and public health in the emergency and disaster contexts throughout the world.

Contingency Planning and Management Magazine
Includes full-text of articles and an extensive collection of prevention, mitigation, response, and recovery recommendations for some of the more common business disruption threats.

Disaster Recovery Institute International (DRII)
A guide to and standards for developing and implementing business continuity plans and also includes information on DRII training and certification programs and links to related sites.

Disaster Resource Guide
Consolidates educational, organizational and vendor resources in the areas of Safety/Security, Emergency/Crisis Management and Business Continuity. 

Emergency Management Guide For Business and Industry
This guide provides a step-by-step approach to emergency planning, response and recovery for companies of all sizes.

First Responder Communities of Practice
Communication platform to support improved collaboration and information sharing amongst the nation's First Responders which focuses on emergency preparedness, response, recovery and other homeland security issues.

International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)
A non-profit educational organization dedicated to saving lives and protecting property during emergencies and disasters

Responder Knowledge Base
Collection of standards, reports, and other information for responding to emergencies and disasters including specific Emergency Management information.

SafetyLit
Free abstract database for articles on safety promotion and injury prevention.

United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (formerly IDNDR)
ISDR focuses on creating disaster prevention strategies and reducing social and economic disruption caused by disasters.

United Nations ReliefWeb
News and information on humanitarian emergencies and natural disasters, with a focus on improving relief efforts.

Other Guides!

Other Guides!

While this Guide is a beginning in your search for Emergency Managment materials, it is not the only guide available on the Internet.  Below are links to other guides that have been put together at other schools and by other librarians.  Feel free to take a look!

Nova Southeastern University Disaster & Emergency Preparedness Libguide

MCNY Metropolitan College of New York Emergency and Disaster Management Libguide