Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Organized Crime, Mafia and Gangsters: Databases and Links

Guide for Library Research on Crime, Mafia, and Gangsters; Now Including Crime Fiction

Finding Articles

Theodore Roosevelt (NYPD Commissioner in the 1890s) Giving a Speech

Theodore Roosevelt (NYPD Commissioner in the 1890s) Giving a Speech

This page provides a list of methods to search our collections, particularly some of our databases. The material on this page is only a sampling of what is available for patrons to look at. If you are interested in finding more, please search through our collection.

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Trial Transcripts

Crime In New York Trial Transcripts

The Criminal Trial Trial Transcripts of New York County (1883-1927) can be accessed from the Lloyd Sealy Library Homepage. Or you can click here.

FBI

FBI

The prime source of information on gangsters and other sorts of criminals is from the FBI. Click HERE to go to their famous cases and criminals page for more information.

John Jay at 50!

John Jay at 50!

The 2014-2015 school year marks the 50th anniversary of the founding of John Jay College of Criminal Justice. This page is a digital exhibition that charts the evolution of the school which has not only changed in response to historical developments both in New York City and the world, it has shaped these developments by contributing to public policy debates in such areas as criminology, penology, human rights, and ethics. Click here to learn more!

Find video & audio resources in OneSearch

The Library's collections include streaming video, streaming audio, DVDs, VHS, and CDs. Search our media collection here.

Advanced search

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search America History and Life Database

To search through the America History and Life database for articles and other material, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

America: History and Life

Search Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

To search through Criminal Justice Periodicals Index for articles and more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Search Biography Reference Center

To search through the EbscoHost Biography Reference Center for biographies and other materials, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Biography Reference Center

Searching Tips

If you are interested in material dealing with New York City and crime in the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries, consider taking a look at resources that do not deal directly with this subject but do touch upon the relevant time period or location. When a source does not deal specifically with what you are looking for, you can try and tailor your search to find relevant information. For instance use search terms like "Crime New York" or "New York Gang". In some cases you may have to look for material that deals more with the time period in question than with any specific crime or criminal case.

For instance you can look in the Economist Historical Archive. While the Economist is not a magazine that deals specifically with crime, their archive stretches back into the 19th century so it is possible to try and find material dealing with the time period of 1850-1950. You can also look in the New York Times Historical File. The New York Times has a long history of reporting stretching back to the 19th century. You can try to find information about crime in general or on a specific case to see if and how the newspaper covered it.

Links

Elevator operator Robert Green, left, and Jacob Jagendorf, a building engineer, right, found lying at the bottom of an elevator shaft November 24, 1915

Elevator operator Robert Green, left, and Jacob Jagendorf, a building engineer, right, found lying at the bottom of an elevator shaft November 24, 1915 (Link)

Button Guys of the New York Mafia
A website dedicated to the history of the Italian Mafia from the beginning of the 20th century through the 1980s.

Criminal Justice History Resources
Extensive list of resources from Northeastern State University. Scroll down the page for links to information on Criminal Justice in 19th and 20th century America

East Village Mafia
A Text/Photo display concerning the East Village (Greenwich Village NYC) Mafia.

GangRule.com
Biographies, historical events, and a searchable database related to the history of organized crime. This page deals specifically with the rise of the New York Mafia from 1900-1920.

House Select Committee on Organized Crime
The House Select Committee on Crime held hearings to investigate the involvement of organized crime in American sports in the 1970s.

Kefauver Committee
The Kefauver Committee was Special Committee on Organized Crime in Interstate Commerce in the 1950s. The reports from this committee are available in the John Jay Library collections.

New York City Police Museum 
Official website of the museum.

New York City Municipal Archives
The Online Gallery provides free and open research access to items digitized from the Municipal Archives' collections, including photographs, maps, motion-pictures and audio recordings. The holdings are arranged by collection.

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Search JSTOR

Lloyd Sealy Digital Collections

Lloyd Sealy Digital Collections

The Digital Collections provide access to hundreds of images digitized from the unique items in the Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections. These materials are freely available to the public for learning, teaching, and research. The materials in our Digital Collections are especially well-suited for historical research of criminal justice, 20th- and 21st-century New York, the New York Police Department, and John Jay College of Criminal Justice itself. Click here to check it out!

More Databases Available!

New York City Police by Joshua Ruff and Michael Croni

 

New York City Police by Joshua Ruff and Michael Cronin (Link)

If you are interested in a different criminal justice database than the one's on this page, click HERE to go to a complete list of all available Criminal Justice Databases from the Lloyd Sealy Library.  (And if you are interested in looking at more history databases, click HERE for a list of all available history databases from the Lloyd Sealy Library.)

911 Emergency Calls

911 Emergency Calls

July 1 1968 was when New York City implemented 911 for emergency calls. Before that to reach the police department you had to call 440-1234.