Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Organized Crime, Mafia and Gangsters: Books

Guide for Library Research on Crime, Mafia, and Gangsters; Now Including Crime Fiction

Books Available

Books Available

This page is a listing of new and older books on the topic of gangs and gangsters that are available from the Lloyd Sealy Library collection, either as a physical book or an an e-book. Underneath the book images on this page, you should see a call number that you can use to locate the book. If it says "on order" then this is a book that is in the process of becoming part of the library collection but that is not available yet. If it is listed as an "Electronic Resource Ebook" then please search for the book in CUNY+ to get access to it. The material on this page is only a sampling of what is available for patrons to look at. If you are interested in finding more, please search through our collection using the search bars below.

Find books with OneSearch

Search for EbscoHost Ebooks

To search through the EbscoHost Ebook Collection for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

EbscoHost Ebooks Search

Search for Ebrary Ebooks

To search through Ebrary for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

ebrary

Lucky Luciano

Lucky Luciano

Lucky Luciano: The Man Who Organized Crime in America
By Hickman Powell
Stacks - HV6248.L92 P68 2006

Prohibition Gangsters

Prohibition Gangsters

Prohibition Gangsters: The Rise and Fall of a Bad Generation
by Marc Mappen
Stacks - HV5089 .M327 2013

The Jews of Sing Sing

The Jews of Sing Sing

The Jews of Sing Sing
by Ron Arons
Stacks - HV6194.J4 A76 2008

Boardwalk Gangster

Boardwalk Gangster

Boardwalk Gangster
by Tim Newark
Stacks - HV6248.L92 N49 2010b

Organizing Crime in Chinatown

Organizing Crime in Chinatown

Organizing Crime in Chinatown
by Jeffrey Scott McIIIwain
Stacks - HV6452.N7 M37 2004

Gangsters Murderers and Weirdos

Gangsters Murderers and Weirdos

A Guide to Gangsters Murderers and Weirdos of New York City's Lower East Side
by Eric Ferrara
Reference - HV6795.N5 F47 2009

The Mob

The Mob

The Mob
by Virgil W. Peterson
Stacks - HV6452.N7 P47 1983

Gangster City

Gangster City

Gangster City
by Patrick Downey
Stacks - HV6452.N3 D69 2004

Encyclopedia of Gangsters

Encyclopedia of Gangsters

The Encyclopedia of Gangsters: A Worldwide Guide to Organized Crime
by Michael Newton
Reference - HV6441 .N49 2007

Public Enemies

Public Enemies

Public Enemies: The True Story of America's Greatest Crime Wave
by Bryan Burrough
Stacks - HV6783 .B85 2004b

A Pickpocket's Tale

A Pickpocket's Tale

A Pickpocket's Tale
by TImothy J. Gifoyle
Stacks - HV6653.A66 G55 2006

Gangsters of Harlem

Gangsters of Harlem

Gangsters of Harlem
by Ron Chepesiuk
Stacks - HV6795.N5 C44 2007

J. Edgar Hoover and His G-Men

J. Edgar Hoover and His G-Men

J. Edgar Hoover and his G-men
by William Breuer
Stacks - HV 7914 .B696 1995

The Brownsville Boys

The Brownsville Boys

The Brownsville Boys
by Larry E. Sullivan (etchings by D.R. Wakefield)
Special Collections Room - HV6795.N5 S87 2013 (by Appt. Only)
Link

Boardwalk Gangster

Boardwalk Gangster

Boardwalk Gangster
by Tim Newark
Stacks - HV6248.L92 N49 2010b

The Mob and the City

The Mob and the City

The Mob and the City
by C. Alexander Hortis
Stacks - HV6452.N72 H67 2014

Murder Inc.

Murder Inc.

Murder, Inc.
by Burton B. Turkus and Sid Feder
Stacks HV6446.T87 2003

East Side West Side

East Side West Side

East Side West Side
by Alan Block
Stacks - HV6795.N5 B57 1980

Battleground NYC

Battleground NYC

Battleground New York City
by Thomas A. Reppetto
Stacks - HV6795.N5 R47 2011

War on Crime

War on Crime

War on Crime: Bandits, G-men, and the Politics of Mass Culture
by Claire Potter
Stacks - HV8144 .F43 P67 1998

Tough Jews

Tough Jews

Tough Jews
by Rich Cohen
Stacks - HV6194.J4 C64 1999