LibGuides: Emerging Infectious Diseases (COVID-19, influenza, Ebola etc): COVID-19

COVID vaccination

NYC vaccine finder (NYC government)
New York City on vaccination (from the city's health department)
New York State on vaccination - effectiveness, programs, progress.
ImmuNYze: NY Vaccination Campaign
County Health Officials of New York
People who have received vaccines (Our World In Data)
COVAX (World Health Organization)
Working for global equitable access to a vaccine.
Lanying Du, Yuxian He, Yusen Zhou, Shuwen Liu, Bo-Jian Zheng, & Shibo Jiang. (2009). The spike protein of SARS-CoV — a target for vaccine and therapeutic development. Nature Reviews Microbiology, 7(3), 226–236.
Legal Issues in COVID-19 Vaccine Development and Deployment (R46399)
Congressional Research Service

Data on COVID-19

Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE (up to date map of confirmed cases) ARC-GIS dashboard at Johns Hopkins, with links to Lancet article, blog, etc.
Our World in Data - Compare COVID-19 cases in different countries
COVID-19 data from the National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
NYC Dept of Health COVID-19 Data
Coronavirus Statistics: Tracking The Epidemic In New York (Gothamist) Secondary source, shows graphs of infection and death rates in the city, broken down by location, age, race, etc.
Covid Tracking Project (Atlantic Monthly)
State level data.
.
Household Pulse Survey: Measuring Social and Economic Impacts during the Coronavirus Pandemic (U.S. Census Bureau)
Racial Data Dashboard [COVID-19 data, Atlantic Monthly]
COVID-19 case data for each state in the United States, aggregated by the Atlantic Monthly.
COVID vaccine data for NYC
COVID-19 School Data Hub
How the COVID-19 pandemic shaped students’ modes of learning in 2020-21 in the United States.

Organizations & publications providing authoritative information & data on COVID-19

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. Corona Virus 2019
Novel Coronavirus reports from MMWR
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, published the CDC.
World Health Organization. Corona virus(COVID-2019) outbreak
COVID-19: Make it the last pandemic (May 2021)
Compiled by the Independent Panel for Pandemic Preparedness and Response.
NYC Department of Health and Hygiene. Coronavirus
NY State Department of Health, Novel Coronavirus Has links to more detailed information aimed at health care providers.
Science matters; let's talk about COVID-19
From Imperial College London, the science of the novel corona virus COVID19 outbreak presented as a short (free) course on the Coursera platform.
JAMA on the coronavirus (Journal of the American Medical Association)
New England Journal of Medicine coronavirus (COVID-19) news & articles
COVID-19: Pandemics past and present, Hein OnLine.

General information on COVID-19

World Health Organization. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic.
The Biden-Harris plan to beat COVID-19. White House press release, January 2021.
Biden-Harris administration's National Strategy for the COVID-19 Response and Pandemic Preparedness. January 2021.
COVID-19 weekly science review
A Vital Strategies public health NGO project.
Dr. John Campbell's daily videos on COVID-19 Dr Campbell has had a long career as Nurse Teacher and ER nurse. His open source teaching materials are widely respected, and he has now turned his talents to explaining the science of the COVID-19 epidemic.
This week in virology podcast (American Society of Microbiology)

New York City & State

NYC offical coronavirus information & press releases
NYC Department of Health and Hygiene. Coronavirus
NYC Dept of Health COVID-19 Data
Coronavirus Statistics: Tracking The Epidemic In New York (Gothamist) Secondary source, shows graphs of infection and death rates in the city, broken down by location, age, race, etc.
NY State Governor Cuomo's daily webcasts

For current news stories about New York City, read The CIty, Gothamist, New York Post, Politico NY (no paywalls) and Amsterdam News (maybe a paywall) , New Yorker magazine (JJ only), Atlantic Monthly (JJ only), and activate your free JJ subscriptions to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. For old news, use Nexis Uni and our other newspaper collections (JJ only).

Selected notable reports

CUNY and the coronavirus

Coronavirus Update from CUNY
With relevant official CUNY policies and procedures. Includes links and /or PDF of most recent guidance letter from the NYS Department of Education.
John Jay College Archives - COVID-19 Pandemic Response Collection
Worker Health & Safety COVID-19 Resources for John Jay College Watchdogs
CUNY student Health and Wellness Services
What we know - and don't know about the coronavirus. Podcast from CUNY School Of Public Health Dean Ayman El-Mohandes. 2/21/2020

COVID misinformation

Localized Misinformation in a Global Pandemic: Report on COVID-19 Narratives around the World. (2021).
Princeton Empirical Studies of Conflict Project
European Union Disinfo Lab. COVID-19 Resource Hub.
S.913 - COVID–19 Disinformation Research and Reporting Act of 2021. (Proposed)
Introduced in Senate March 2021.
World Health Organization. Infodemic. An infodemic is too much information including false or misleading information in digital and physical environments during a disease outbreak. It causes confusion and risk-taking behaviours that can harm health. It also leads to mistrust in health authorities and undermines the public health response. An infodemic can intensify or lengthen outbreaks when people are unsure about what they need to do to protect their health and the health of people around them. With growing digitization – an expansion of social media and internet use – information can spread more rapidly. This can help to more quickly fill information voids but can also amplify harmful messages. Infodemic management is the systematic use of risk- and evidence-based analysis and approaches to manage the infodemic and reduce its impact on health behaviours during health emergencies.
World Health Organization. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public: Mythbusters.
National Priorities to Combat Misinformation and Disinformation for COVID-19 and Future Public Health Threats: A Call for a National Strategy. (March 2021.)
The Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Scientific research on COVID-19

LitCovid
A curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus, from the National Library of Medicine.

COVID-19 science & research
Curated by the CDC
Imperial College London. COVID-19 research and resources
Rapid Reviews COVID
an open-access overlay journal from MIT that accelerates peer review of COVID-19-related research preprints to advance new and important findings, and prevent the dissemination of false or misleading scientific news.
Mailman School of Public Health (Columbia U.). COVID-19 research
Press releases with links to research reports
Bibliography of aIrborne respiratory infections
Bibliography of research papers, showing wvidence supporting airborne transmission, of measles, influenza, chicken pox, COVID-19, tuberculosis, SARS & MERS. Note: crowd sourced Google doc.
Report of the WHO-China Joint Mission on Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19); 16-24 February 2020
Retracted coronavirus (COVID-19) papers
Wrong, inaccurate, fundamentally flawed or fraudulent papers that have been withdrawn from the permanent record of academic literature. Listed by Retraction Watch. From journals and a few posted on pre-print servers.
WHO-convened Global Study of the Origins of SARS-CoV-2 (March 2021)
Effectiveness of Face Mask or Respirator Use in Indoor Public Settings for Prevention of SARS-CoV-2 Infection — California, February–December 2021
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, 4th February, 2022.

The criminal justice system and COVID-19

Federal Bureau of Prisons COVID-19 updates
NY State Dept of Corrections & Community Supervision and COVID-19
NY City Dept of Corrections and COVID-19
The Marshall Project; Reporting on COVID-19
Prison Policy Initiative - COVID-19
Vera Institute of Justice. COVID-19; criminal justice responses to the pandemic
IACP. COVID-19 Library of Resources A Searchable Database of Resources Related to COVID-19.
more...less...
This is a compilation of resources to assist in informing your agency response to COVID-19. This library is designed for reference purposes only with resources shared by the field of law enforcement, for the field of law enforcement. The IACP does not necessarily endorse, certify, recommend, or promote any of the resources within this library.

This library of resources is supported by the Collaborative Reform Initiative Technical Assistance Center (CRI-TAC), in partnership with the Department of Justice’s Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) and eight other leading law enforcement agencies. CRI-TAC provides training and technical assistance solutions to state, local, tribal, territorial, and campus agencies throughout the United States at no cost to your agency.
COVID Prison Project
Anerican Jail Association. COVID-19 resources.
Flattening the Curve for Incarcerated Populations — Covid-19 in Jails and Prisons. New England Journal of Medicine, April 2, 2020.
NYPD COVID-19 Memorial
NYPD Police Commissioner Dermot Shea Updates Members of the Department on Major Steps Taken to Combat COVID-19. March 20, 2020.
NYPD NYPD and New York City Police Foundation Announce the Purchase of 150,000 units each of Masks, Gloves and Packets of Hand Sanitizer for the New York City Police Department. March 31, 2020.