Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Information, data and statistics on armed conflict around the world, international peacekeeping missions and global security.
Correlates of War (COW)
Listing of all national and international conflicts since 1816. Listed conflicts fall into 4 categories:
1.) Inter-state: Wars that take place between or among the recognized states (e.g., Spanish-American War, WWI, WWII, Six Day War).
2.) Intra-state: Wars that predominantly take place within the recognized territory of a state (e.g., civil wars).
3.) Extra-state: Wars in the middle category - wars that take place between a state(s) and a nonstate entity outside the borders of the state.
4.) Non-state: wars between or among non-state entities. Such entities include governments of other types of geopolitical units, such as dependencies or non-state autonomous entities, that do not meet the criteria of system membership. They also might involve non-territorial entities or non-state armed groups (NSAs) that have no defined territorial base.
The Public Affairs Information Service was established to chronicle the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. The database contains and index to journal articles, government documents, grey literature and other materials from 1997 forward.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.
Military and Government Collection
Articles from journals and other periodicals and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Sage Political Science Full Text Collection
Searchable collection of Sage Journals in political science, American government, and policy studies. Coverage from 1912 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.
Public policy research organization that often focuses on global governance and issues relating to globalization.
A database of policy studies and working papers.
Global Policy Forum
An independent not-for-profit tasked with monitoring and evaluating the global policy initiatives of the United Nations. The organization's website contains its reports, papers and charts and tables relating to all aspects of global policy.