Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Gun Issues: Books and Databases

Guide for Library Research on Gun Issues

Journals

There are a variety of journals available on the subject of guns. Some are in physical print (or in some cases in microfilm) format and others are only available online in a database.

 Journals

In Print (or Microfilm):

American Rifleman SK1.a52 v71-160 (Microfilm) V161 1-2 (Periodicals)

The Police Marksman TS532.P6 V4-32 (Periodicals)

 Journals

In a Database:

Gun Digest 2010 - Present General OneFile

Guns Magazine 1999-Present General OneFile

Guns and Ammo1983-Present General OneFile

Journal on Firearms and Public Policy 1988-Present HeinOnline Law Journal Library

The Supreme Court and Gun Rights

The Supreme Court and Gun Rights

Gun Control on Trial: Inside The Supreme Court Battle over the Second Amendment

Brian Doherty

Stacks KF3941.D64 2008 Regular Loan

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights

Glenn H. Utter

Reference Law KF3941.A68 U88 2000 Non-Circulating

Find books with OneSearch

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search JSTOR

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Databases

There are a variety of databases available where information on gun issues can be found. Many of these are general databases or criminal justice oriented databases but the material is there if you know how to find it!

Databases

To pick and access a database, click here.

Database Search Terms

When searching in the databases for material on anything relating to the subject of guns, keep in mind some of these search terms:

Database Search Terms

Guns in American Society

Guns in American Society

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History Politics Culture and the Law

Reference HV7436.G8783 2002 V1-2 Non Circulating