Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Overviews, Transcript & Text
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Electronic version of the six volume encyclopedia that contains in-depth articles on all aspects of the Constitution and its amendments.
The hard-copy version is located at the Reference Desk :KF 4548 .E53 2000
FindLaw - The Bill of Rights
Overview of the specific amendments, interpretations & landmark cases for each amendment.
CQ Supreme Court Collection
Click on "Supreme Court Encyclopedia" and then "Bill of Rights" for an overview of the Bill of Rights, its creation & synopsis.
Overviews and Issue Debates (Pro/Con) - Databases
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
This comprehensive source will provide an overview and background information on the topic (e.g., gun control or freedom of the press, etc.). The database will also give pro/con arguments, related statistics, and a bibliography with current reports (and links to those reports), books and articles for further research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Type in a topic (e.g., gun control, freedom of the press, etc.) and retrieve: articles presenting both (or several) sides of the debate, academic articles, statistics, and reference sources as well as related audio and video.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference)
Overviews of topics (e.g., Freedom of the Press, Gun Control, First Amendment, etc.) from a wide assortment of specialized encyclopedias including legal encyclopedias, human rights encyclopedias, etc.
Popular Names of Constitutional Amendments & Articles
Constitution Hall Pass: Bill of Rights Videos
These brief videos from the National Constitution Center, provide the history & context of the creation of the Bill of Rights & an overview of the significance of each amendment.
National Constitution Center