Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Overviews and Issue Debates (Pro/Con) - Databases
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
This comprehensive source will provide an overview and background information on the topic (e.g., gun control or freedom of the press, etc.). The database will also give pro/con arguments, related statistics, and a bibliography with current reports (and links to those reports), books and articles for further research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Type in a topic (e.g., gun control, freedom of the press, etc.) and retrieve: articles presenting both (or several) sides of the debate, academic articles, statistics, and reference sources as well as related audio and video.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference)
Overviews of topics (e.g., Freedom of the Press, Gun Control, First Amendment, etc.) from a wide assortment of specialized encyclopedias including legal encyclopedias, human rights encyclopedias, etc.
Popular Names of Constitutional Amendments and Articles
Popular Names of Constitutional Provisions
Prepared by the University of Washington Gallagher Law Library.
A really useful list that identifies popular names or nicknames of Constitutional amendments, articles and provisions. The information is arranged in two lists: the first, alphabetically by popular name/nickname and the second list is arranged by each item's appearance in the Constitution.
Overviews, Transcript & Text
Bill of Rights - Original document and transcript
The transcript as well as the facsimile is available here on Our Documents, a cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives and Records Administration and the USA Freedom Corps.
From: The National Archives
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Electronic version of the six volume encyclopedia that contains in-depth articles on all aspects of the Constitution and its amendments.
The hard-copy version is located at the Reference Desk and its appendix, contains a transcript of the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, all subsequent amendments and other related documents. The call number for the hard-copy version of the Encyclopedia is:
Reference Desk KF 4548 .E53 2000
FindLaw - The Bill of Rights
Overview of the specific amendments, their annotations and interpretations and landmark cases pertaining to each amendment.
CQ Supreme Court Collection
Click on "Supreme Court Encyclopedia" and then "Bill of Rights" for a quick overview of the Bill of Rights, its creation and the meaning of the 10 amendments.
Printable U.S. Constitution
This site offers free, printable versions of the founding documents of our Republic, including the U.S. Constitution, Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, and other rights laid out by America's founders. Carry copies of the entire Constitution as a handy foldable booklet, or refer to one Article or Amendment at a time. From a patriotically illustrated Bill of Rights bookmark to a parchment-look version of the Constitution, you can easily reference the fundamental laws and governing documents of the United States of America. All of the printable documents at this site are free.
Constitution Hall Pass: Bill of Rights Videos
These brief videos from the National Constitution Center in Philadelphia, PA, provide the history and context of the creation of the Bill of Rights as well as a and overview of the significance of each amendment.
National Constitution Center