Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Latin American & Latina/o Studies

Related John Jay Library Guides

Ethnic Studies: Multicultural America library guide: click here

Human Rights library guide: click here

International Criminal Justice library guide: click here

CUNY Libraries with Specialized Collections

The Center for Puerto Rican Studies/El Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños, Hunter College. Click here for information.

   A research institute comprised of a non-circulating library and archives dedicated to the study of Puerto Rican history, culture and life in the United States. Also offers selected materials on other Latino communites in the U.S.

CUNY Dominican Studies Institute, City College. Click here for information.

   The only university-based research institute in the United States devoted to the study of people of Dominican descent. Library and archives materials are non-circulating.

Eugenio María de Hostos Digital Collection, Hostos Community College.  Click here for information.

   A digital collection dedicated to the study of the Puerto Rican educator, sociologist and novelist, Eugenio María de Hostos with links to his works, biographical information and photographs.

Law School Preparation

Helpful resources for students of Latin American and Latina/o Studies at John Jay/St. John's University School of Law (Ronald H. Brown Law School Prep Program):

Testing & Education Resource Center

 An online database with current LSAT preparation materials which can keep track of practice test scores. Includes lists of graduate schools and scholarships.

Law School 101: Survival techniques from pre-law to being an attorney (ebook)

Should you really be a lawyer?: The guide to smart career choices before, during & after law school (KF 297 .S36 2005)     (Stacks)

Understanding law school: An introduction to the Lexis/Nexis Understanding Series and tips on how to succeed in law school  (KF 283 .U53 2004) (Stacks)

How to succeed in law school (KF 283 .M86 2001) (Stacks)

John Jay College of Criminal Justice resources for law students

Provides links for selecting law schools, programs, and financial aid resources. Includes links to Latino student organizations.

                                                                                                                    

 

 

Hispanic Serving Institution

John Jay College is a Hispanic-serving institution. See the position paper by the Faculty of the Department of Latin Ameriacan and Latina/o Studies (LLS).