Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Latin American & Latina/o Studies

Web portals (information, articles, and statistics)

Center for Migration Studies of New York

An educational institute/think tank that studies international migration and public policy regarding the rights of migrants and refugees. Issues peer-reviewed journals (one is online open access), online free-access books, and comprehensive archival material on the immigrant experience.

ECLAC: Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

A website of a regional commission of the United Nations, this focuses on the economic and social development of Latin America with links to publications and statistics.

GlobaLex

A comprehensive international law site, published by Hauser Global Law School, NYU which provides scholarly articles on international countries. Includes historical background, branches of government, constitutional law and links to countries' law associations, schools and newspapers. Choose "foreign law research" to go to the alphabetical list of countries.

Guide to Law Online

A comprehensive site from the Library of Congress on laws of countries of the world. Select "Nations of the World" to find the Constitutions, information on the executive, judicial and legislative branches, legal guides and general sources of specific nations.

Guide to Online Sources of Law Relating to Latin America

A guide from the Bar of the City of New York with links to Latin American jurisprudence, legislation and related legal materials. Includes country specific, global and regional listings.

Human Rights Web Archive @ Columbia University

A searchable collection of over 600 human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights organizations, tribunals and individuals. Dates back to 2008 and includes current information for active websites. The scope is world-wide (not limited to Latin America) and includes publications, reports and media.

 Insight Crime

A bilingual think tank that produces special reports on organized crime, profiles of countries, criminal organizations, gangs and personalities on a select number of countries of Latin America.

Internet Resources for Latin America

A useful library guide from New Mexico State University with a strong emphasis on U.S./Mexico criminal justice and immigration issues.

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center

This portal from the University of Texas at Austin is very comprehensive and is recognized as the foremost site for and about Latin America.

Migration Policy Institute

An independent, non-partisan think tank dedicated to the study of immigration worldwide. Deals with topics such as border security, illegal  immigration, immigration policy and law, and refugee and asylum policy. Includes an online journal, reports, fact sheets and links to media.

Newslink: Newspapers of the world

Provides links to newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as newspapers, magazines and media from the U.S. and other countries.

NYC 2010: Results from the 2010 Census. Population Growth and Race/Hispanic Composition

          Provides statistics of the Hispanic population of New York City with historical and present trends.

Office of Immigration Statistics, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Provides statistics on immigrants, refugees and asylees through reports, fact sheets and other information sources.

Pew Hispanic Center

A non-partisan research organization that chronicles Latinos' socio-economic and political impact on the United States through studies, reports, and public opinion surveys.

Political Database of the Americas

A non-governmental collaborative project between Georgetown University, the Organization of American States (OAS), and FLACSO-Chile that offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections and political constitutional studies of Latin America and the Caribbean.

UN News Centre, United Nations

Choose Topics and "Migrants and Refugees" to find a link  includes current news, photographs, media and other resources.

US Census Bureau: Hispanics in the U.S.

Provides statistics of the Hispanic population in the United States from the past, present, and forecasting trends for the future.

US Citizenship and Immigration Services

US government site providing information on citizenship, Green Card, and other policies.

 Zona Latina: Latin American Media & Marketing

Links to newspapers, magazines and media from Latin America in Spanish and English.

Digital collections (primary and secondary sources)

Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive

A vast resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights, it includes over 10 million scanned images of documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN).

 Digital Commons Network                                                                                                                   

An impressive research tool that offers free, full text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. It includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other original scholarly work from disciplines such as international law, criminal law, human rights law and civil rights. Use the search box or click on the orange section of the color wheel (law discipline) to get started.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

Includes resources from and about the Caribbean and the circum-Caribbean. Provides digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research material.

Latin American Ephemera Collection, Princeton University

Contains thousands of 20th century pamphlets, brochures, flyers and other material of Latin America. Includes links to Princeton's Latin American Posters Collection and the Digital Archive of Latin American & Caribbean Ephemera.

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection, Harvard University

More than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets containing political and social commentary.

Latin American Travelogues, Brown University

Latin American travel accounts written by Europeans, North Americans, and Latin Americans in the 16th-19th centuries.

Latino Oral History Project, Newark Public Library

Oral histories of selected groups of Latino communities in New Jersey, including some stories of those involved in the justice system.

LLMC Digital

            A non-profit library cooperative that provides historical government documents such as country constitutions, laws and treatises. It is not limited to Latin America; click on Online services, then browse "Other countries" to find your country of interest.

Online Collection of the Hispanic Reading Room, Library of Congress

Online collection that is selective and based on material from exhibitions and pictorial collections on Latin America, the Caribbean, the Hispanic United States, Spain and Portugal. Includes some primary source material.

Palante  New York University

Bilingual newspaper (1970-1976) created by the Young Lords Party of New York.

Voces: Oral History Project, University of Texas

Stories of Latino/as who served in the U.S. military or homefront during WWII, Korean and Vietnam wars or who were active in political and civic life.

World Digital Library

A project of the Library of Congress in cooperation with UNESCO, and many educational institutions from around the world. Offers many primary source materials in multilingual format. Content includes: books, manuscripts, journals, newspapers, photographs, prints, sound recordings and films.