Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Human Rights: Articles

Your guide to books, articles and other resources on human rights.

How do you find articles on human rights topics?

  • To find a known journal, start with the Find Journals  tab on the library homepage.
  • To find any journal on a particular subject, click on the Databases by Subject  list and select a database to search.
  • For articles on human rights from a legal perspective, look in the specialized databases listed below.
  • For articles on human rights with more of a multidisciplinary or sociological perspective, see the general databases listed below.

Non-Legal Databases for human rights sources

Legal Databases and Journals for articles on human rights

To find all the journals in the library that contain "Human Rights" in the title go to the Find Journals search box by clicking here and enter "human rights" to view a list of  the over 70 journals on this topic. Some of the most prominent of these journals are:

    • Columbia Human Rights Law Review
    • Harvard Human Rights Journal
    • Human Rights Quarterly
    • International Journal of Human Rights Law
    • New York Law School Journal of Human Rights
    • Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal

Most of these journals can be found in the below specialized databases for law related articles.

Need help?

Stop by the reference desk on the 2nd floor

Call (212)237-8246

Text (646) 256-5199

Email us

Search tips

When searching a database do a basic search by keywords such as: "human rights" AND _________ (see below for some ideas).  Go to the advanced search box to limit your results including by date, author, type of publication and subtopics.

human rights AND [enter name of country]

human rights AND Advocacy

human rights AND globalization

human rights AND case studies

human rights AND cross-cultural studies

human rights AND developing countries

human rights AND economic aspects

human rights AND government policy

human rights AND health aspects

human rights in literature

human rights AND international cooperation

human righs AND prisons

human rights AND police 

    Find it!

    Click on the button to find out whether the fulltext of your article is available in any of the other databases.